Three Crusaders Named To All-Patriot League Teams

Holy Cross Athletics   11-06-2017

WORCESTER, Mass. – Three student-athletes on the Holy Cross men’s soccer team earned All-Patriot League honors, as announced by the league on Monday, Nov. 6. Seniors Justin Carfora and Arno Rupp were both named to the All-Patriot League Second Team, while senior Yuji Callahan was named to the third team.

Carfora, a midfielder, has played in 16 games and started in all 16 games. He has captained the team in back-to-back seasons. In his career as a Crusader, Carfora has played in 67 games, making 63 starts. He has recorded 16 points, having scored five goals and six assists in his career, including two game-winning tallies in 2015.

Rupp, a forward, has played in all 17 games for the Crusaders in 2017. He has started in nine contests and leads the team with seven goals and two assists for 16 points. The All-Patriot League selection is the first of his career, coming with a season high in scoring. Rupp has posted two multi-point games, including a five-point outing on Oct. 25 against Colgate. Rupp has tallied 16 goals and nine assists for 41 career points. Rupp was previously recognized by the league as an Academic All-Patriot League selection in 2016.

Callahan’s third team selection is his second consecutive selection to the All-Patriot League third team (2016). Callahan has played in 16 games for the Crusaders in 2017, starting in 14. Callahan has played in 64 games during his time at Holy Cross, while making 61 starts. In his career, the midfielder has tallied 16 points from five goals and six assists.

The Crusaders finished the regular season at 6-8-3 and a 4-3-2 mark in Patriot League action. With four wins and two ties in conference play, the team secured a No. 5 seed and a spot in the Patriot League playoffs for the first time since 2013. Holy Cross will play at No. 4-seeded Lehigh in the quarterfinal round of the Patriot League tournament on Tuesday, Nov. 7.

Offensive Player of the Year:  Mark Forest, Lehigh, Jr., F

Midfielder of the Year: Barry Sharifi, Loyola Maryland, So., M

Defensive Player of the Year: Zach McGraw, Army West Point, So., D

Goalkeeper of the Year: Chase Vosvick, Loyola Maryland, Fr., GK

Rookie of the Year: Chase Vosvick, Loyola Maryland, Fr., GK

Coach of the Year: Steve Nichols, Loyola Maryland


Note: Listed in school alphabetical order


First Team

Zach McGraw, Army West Point, So., D

Aram Ouligian, Colgate, Jr., D

Jared Stroud, Colgate, Sr., M

Mark Forest, Lehigh, Jr., F

Alex Greene, Lehigh, Jr., M

Doyle Tuvesson, Lehigh, So., F

Gabriel Carlsson, Loyola Maryland, Jr., M

Brian Saramago, Loyola Maryland, So., F

Barry Sharifi, Loyola Maryland, So., M

Mickey Watson, Loyola Maryland, Jr., D

Chase Vosvick, Loyola Maryland, Fr., GK


^Second Team

Marcos Arroyo, Army West Point, So., M

Rex Epps, Army West Points, So., F

Justin Stoll, Army West Point, So., GK

Michael Bernardi, Boston University, So., GK

Toti Knutsson, Boston University, Fr., M

Adam Shejkali, Boston University, Sr., D

Justin Carfora, Holy Cross, Sr., M

Arno Rupp, Holy Cross, Sr., F

Christian Moyse, Lafayette, Sr., D

Evan Vare, Lafayette, So., F

John Marc Charpentier, Lehigh, Sr., D

Sam Carter, Loyola Maryland, So., D

Josh Fawole, Loyola Maryland, So., F


*Third Team

Keenan Oshea, Army West Point, So., F

Peter Kargbo, Boston University, Fr., D

Elias Lampis, Boston University, Fr., D

Matt McDonnell, Boston University, So., F

Nick King, Bucknell, So., M

Tyler Peterson, Bucknell, Jr., D

Matt Thorsheim, Bucknell, Fr., F

Yuji Callahan, Holy Cross, Sr., M

Oscar Greene, Lehigh, Jr., M


^Due to a tie, there are two goalkeepers on the second team and none on the third team

*Due to a tie, there are two at-large positions on the second team and none on the third team





Launch Player
2018 Football Golf Outing
2018 Football Golf Outing
Head Coach Bob Chesney - Mic'd Up
Head Coach Bob Chesney - Mic'd Up
Holy Cross Commencement 2018
Holy Cross Commencement 2018