Anderson, Golden & Murphy To Join Crusader Football Legends Ring Of Honor

Holy Cross Athletics   06-14-2017

WORCESTER, Mass. – Holy Cross director of athletics Nathan Pine has announced three individuals will be recognized this fall as the seventh class in the Crusader Football Legends Ring of Honor. Dr. Eddie Anderson, Dennis Golden (Class of 1963) and David Murphy (Class of 1990) will be honored in a ceremony at the game against New Hampshire on Sept. 16, and receive permanent recognition at Fitton Field.

Anderson served as Holy Cross' head coach from 1933-1938 and 1950-1964, posting an overall record of 129-67-8. He posted a 47-7-4 record in his first tenure, with his 1935 and 1937 teams going undefeated and the 1938 squad posting a 9-1 record and finishing the season with a No. 9 national ranking. He then spent eight years at Iowa from 1939-1942 and 1946-1949 (35-33-2), and in 1939 helped Nile Kinnick win the Heisman Trophy while earning National Coach of the Year honors. Anderson returned to Holy Cross in 1950 and was 82-60-4 in his second tenure, including 8-2 marks in 1951 and 1952. Anderson graduated from Notre Dame, where he played end and served as team captain under Knute Rockne. He also coached at Loras (16-6-1) and DePaul (21-22-4), while earning a medical degree from Rush Medical College and playing professional football. Anderson's career record of 201-128-15 still ranks him 24th all-time in Division I-A victories. Inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1971, he passed away on April 26, 1974.

Golden was a two-way tackle for coach Anderson and was selected All-New England and All-East twice, as well as being an Associated Press honorable mention All-American. He co-captained Holy Cross' 1962 football team with fellow Hall of Famer Tom Hennessey, and was a member of the 1963 Quantico Armed Forces Championship football team. After graduation he was drafted by the Dallas Cowboys, but turned down a pro offer to enter the Marines. When Golden returned from the service he pursued a career in education, earning a master's in guidance and psychology from Assumption College and a doctorate in higher education administration from Boston College. He taught and worked in student affairs at Holy Cross, Framingham State, Duquesne University, and University of Louisville, in addition to coaching football on the Division I and Division III levels for 13 years. Golden then spent 19 years as the president of Fontbonne University in Clayton, Mo., from 1995-2014.

Murphy was a starter in the Crusader defensive backfield for four years, and earned a number of prestigious honors while helping lead the team to a 40-4 record over the course of his career. A four-time first team All-Patriot League selection and three-time All-American, he was also named All-New England and All-ECAC twice. In addition, Murphy received the Bulger Lowe Award as the 1989 Defensive Player of the Year in New England, and was selected as the National Player of the Week by Sports Illustrated following the Crusaders' 35-20 victory over Harvard on Oct. 1, 1988. He totaled 28 interceptions and 318 tackles during his collegiate career, in addition to returning a pair of punts for touchdowns. Murphy holds the school record for career interceptions, and still ranks second all-time in football championship subdivision history in career interceptions. In 2011, he was named to the Patriot League's 25th anniversary team. Murphy went on to receive his master's degree from Boston University, and currently serves as the executive vice president of PlatformQ Health in Needham, Mass.

Only former Crusader football players who have been elected to the Holy Cross Varsity Club Hall of Fame are eligible for the Ring of Honor. The inductees to be honored were chosen by a special committee, which includes representatives from the Holy Cross Athletic Department, the Friends of Crusader Football Executive Committee, the Holy Cross Varsity Club and the Holy Cross Development Office. In addition, fan voting accounted for a small percentage of the final tally. With the addition of these three individuals, a total of 25 former Crusaders will now be included in the Ring of Honor.

Individuals who have previously been inducted into the Crusader Football Legends Ring of Honor include Ronnie Cahill (Class of 1940), Tom Ciaccio (Class of 1992), George Connor (Class of ex1946), Gill Fenerty (Class of 1986), Harry Flaherty (Class of 1984), Tom Greene (Class of 1959), Tom Hennessey (Class of 1963), Bruce Kozerski (Class of 1984), Jack Lentz (Class of 1967), Gordie Lockbaum (Class of 1988), Charlie Maloy (Class of 1953), Pat McCarthy (Class of 1963), Jon Morris (Class of 1964), Edmund Murphy (Class of 1943), Bill Osmanski (Class of 1939), Vince Promuto (Class of 1960), John Provost (Class of 1975), Dave Quehl (Class of 1976), Johnny Turco (Class of 1952), Glenn Verrette (Class of 1980), Jeff Wiley (Class of 1989) and Joe Wilson (Class of 1973).

Make sure not to miss the Ring of Honor ceremony at the New Hampshire game on Sept. 16 by ordering your season tickets today! The Crusaders will also play home games against Lafayette (Sept. 30), Monmouth (Oct. 7), Colgate (Oct. 21) and Georgetown (Oct. 28) this fall, as they look to contend for the Patriot League championship.

For more details on season tickets, click here or call 1-844-GOCROSS.




Launch Player
Holy Cross Baseball and Softball are Back
Holy Cross Baseball and Softball are Back
Holy Cross Lacrosse is Back
Men's Lacrosse
Holy Cross Lacrosse is Back
Men's Ice Hockey Senior Thank You
Men's Ice Hockey
Men's Ice Hockey Senior Thank You