Bob Cousy Award Presentation Set For Friday

Holy Cross Athletics   04-07-2017

WORCESTER, Mass. – The 2017 recipient of the Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award presented by College of the Holy Cross will be announced this Friday, April 7. The winner, determined by a combination of fan votes and input from the Basketball Hall of Fame’s selection committee, will be revealed at ESPN’s College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s from The Novo by Microsoft in Los Angeles, Calif. The Awards will be televised live on ESPN2 at 8:00 p.m. on April 7.

The Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award is named after Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic and Holy Cross guard Bob Cousy. Now in its 14th year, the award recognizes the top point guards in men’s Division I college basketball.

The finalists for the 2017 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award are:

Lonzo Ball, UCLA
Joel Berry II, North Carolina
Jalen Brunson, Villanova
Frank Mason, Kansas
Nigel Williams-Goss, Gonzaga

Make sure to tune into ESPN’s College Basketball Awards on Friday night, to find out the winner of the 2017 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award! In addition to the Cousy Award, winners will be announced for the John R. Wooden Award presented by Wendy’s (Player of the Year – Men), the John R. Wooden Award (Player of the Year – Women), the John R. Wooden Award (Legends of Coaching), the Jerry West Award (Shooting Guard of the Year), the Julius Erving Award (Small Forward of the Year), the Karl Malone Award (Power Forward of the Year) and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award (Center of the Year).

Molly McGrath will join the ESPN College GameDay by State Farm team of Rece Davis, Jay Bilas, Seth Greenberg and Jay Williams as they interview winners, present awards and relive the season’s best moments. Features will include a stop at the General Hospital set for South Carolina’s A’ja Wilson and Villanova’s Josh Hart, and a mockumentary starring rapper/comedian Lil Dicky paying a visit to UCLA guard  Lonzo Ball’s house. In addition, actors Mayim Bialik (The Big Bang Theory) and Danny Pudi (Community), and former Wooden Award winners T.J. Ford (2003) and Hall of Fame player Ralph Sampson (1982 and 1983), will appear during the telecast, while Hall of Fame players Julius Erving, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Karl Malone, Jerry West, Ann Meyers Drysdale and former Notre Dame and WNBA standout Ruth Riley will be on hand to present the night’s awards.

Learn more about the 2017 Bob Cousy Award finalists, the history of the award and Holy Cross and Boston Celtics legend Bob Cousy by clicking here.





Launch Player
Men's Basketball vs. Bucknell Video Recap (2/17/2018)
Men's Basketball
Men's Basketball vs. Bucknell Video Recap (2/17/2018)
Women's Basketball vs. Army Video Recap (2/14/2018)
Women's Basketball
Women's Basketball vs. Army Video Recap (2/14/2018)
Baseball Dinner Recap
Baseball Dinner Recap