Varsity Club Inducts Seven To Athletic Hall Of Fame

Feb. 5, 2007

WORCESTER, Mass. - The Holy Cross Varsity Club has announced that seven individuals have been selected for induction into the Holy Cross Athletic Hall of Fame. The 2007 inductees into the Hall of Fame are James Daley (Class of 1930, track & field), Jim Nairus (Class of 1991, basketball), Steve Raquet (Class of 1984, football), Don Riedl (Class of 1963, baseball), Ali (Roberts) Hawk (Class of 1999, field hockey), Bob Fouracre (honorary) and Park Smith (Class of 1954, honorary).

Daley was a standout sprinter on the Crusader men's track & field team from 1927-1930. During his sophomore, junior and senior seasons, Daley won three straight IC4A titles in the 70-yard dash without ever losing even one heat in the competition. He also held the national intercollegiate record in the 70-yard dash at the time of his graduation. During his senior season at the NYAC Games, held at Madison Square Garden, Daley defeated George Simpson of Ohio State, who had been heralded as the "world's fastest human." In addition, Daley won the National Senior title in the 60-yard dash during his junior year, and served as the captain of the team in 1928-1929.

Nairus was a three-year starter on the Holy Cross men's basketball team, helping lead the team to an overall record of 69-48 (.590) over the course of his career, with the Crusaders advancing to the National Invitation Tournament in 1990. During his senior year, he led the team in both scoring (18.4 points per game) and rebounding (7.8 rebounds per game), and was named first team All-Patriot League and to the Patriot League All-Tournament team. Nairus was also a second team All-Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference selection as a junior, when he averaged 14.3 points and 5.9 rebounds per contest. He finished his career with 1,234 points and still ranks as Holy Cross' 20th all-time leading scorer, in addition to ranking second in school history in career three-point field goal percentage (48.1 percent, 116 of 241). In addition to his accomplishments on the court, Nairus was a two-time Academic All-American, in addition to being named the 1991 Patriot League Scholar-Athlete of the Year and the 1991 Crusader of the Year.

Raquet was a standout defensive lineman on the Holy Cross football team from 1980-1983, helping lead the Crusaders to an overall record of 26-18-1 (.589) during his four-year career, and a trip to the 1983 NCAA Division I-AA Playoffs. During his senior season, he was named a first team All-American, first team All-New England and first team All-Eastern College Athletic Conference, after totaling 87 tackles, nine quarterback sacks, six pass breakups and three fumble recoveries. Raquet also received the Davitt Award as the team's top defensive lineman as a freshman, when he posted 80 tackles and 10 sacks. Over the course of his career, Raquet totaled 281 tackles, 19 sacks, 15 pass breakups, eight fumble recoveries and three interceptions. He held the school record for career sacks at the time of his graduation, and still stands fourth on the all-time Holy Cross list. Raquet went on to play professionally with the Montreal Concordes in the Canadian Football League.

Riedl was one of the top pitchers on the Crusader baseball team from 1961-1963, leading Holy Cross to back-to-back appearances in the College World Series in 1962 and 1963. He posted a career record of 18-5 during his collegiate career, including a perfect 7-0 mark during his junior season. Riedl remains the last Holy Cross pitcher to win a game in the College World Series, when he defeated Colorado State 4-3 on June 11, 1962. He also posted victories in the NCAA District I Playoffs against Bridgeport in 1962 and Boston College in 1963, to propel the Crusaders into College World Series. In addition, Riedl threw a no-hitter against Dartmouth on April 26, 1962, and tossed a one-hitter against Amherst College on May 5, 1961.

Hawk was a four-year letterwinner for the Crusaders from 1995-1998, leading Holy Cross to pair of Patriot League titles during her junior and senior seasons. Hawk led the conference in scoring as a senior with 42 points on 19 goals and four assists, to earn Patriot League Offensive Player of the Year honors. She was also the Patriot League's leading scorer during her junior year, when she totaled 14 goals and 10 assists for 38 points. Hawk was a first team All-Patriot League and second team All-New England selection in 1998, after earning second team All-Patriot League and first team All-New England honors in 1997. She finished her career with 100 total points on 40 goals and 20 assists, and still ranks sixth all-time at Holy Cross in both goals and points. Hawk was selected to play in 1998 North-South Senior All-Star Game, and was also honored as the 1998 Patriot League Scholar-Athlete of the Year. In addition, she was named to the Patriot League All-Decade Team for the 1990s, and received the Varsity Club Norton Prize as a senior for her accomplishments on the field and in the classroom.

Fouracre has covered Holy Cross since 1970 as a television and radio broadcaster. He began as the play-by-play man for WSMW-TV 27, where he announced men's basketball and football games from 1970-1981. Fouracre continued to call Crusader men's basketball games for WXNE-TV 25 from 1982-1985, before moving to radio in 1986. Since 1986, he has covered the Holy Cross football, men's basketball and women's basketball teams on WTAG 580 AM, WVEI 1440 AM and WNEB 1230 AM. In addition, Fouracre served as the producer and television host of the Holy Cross Football Show from 1986-1999, and the Holy Cross men's and women's basketball coach's shows from 1995-1999. During his career, Fouracre has worked with a number of distinguished Holy Cross graduates, including Bob Cousy, Tom Heinsohn, Togo Palazzi, Ronnie Perry, Tom Kelleher, Mel Massucco and Gordie Lockbaum.

Smith, a member of the Crusader baseball team during his undergraduate days, has been one of the most generous supporters of Holy Cross athletics in recent years, with his donations funding both a wellness center and a soccer stadium. In 1997, the Carol & Park B. Smith Wellness Center opened as a two-story addition to the Hart Center. The state-of-the-art, 15,000 square-foot facility provides more than four times the space that the college previously had for exercise and training, with enough room for both varsity athletes and other members of the Holy Cross community. In 2006, the Linda Johnson Smith Soccer Stadium was dedicated as the new home of the Crusader men's and women's soccer teams. The 1,320-seat facility has a natural grass playing surface with a permanent grandstand and lights. In addition to his support of athletics, Smith has made many other contributions to Holy Cross, including a leadership gift to fund Carol & Park B. Smith Hall, the home of the Center for Religion, Ethics and Culture.

These seven individuals will be formally inducted into the Athletic Hall of Fame on Saturday, May 5, at the Varsity Club's annual dinner, to be held in the Hogan Campus Center.