2014 NCAA Men's Hockey Northeast Regional Field Announced

The DCU Center

NCAA Northeast Regional Central Website

WORCESTER, Mass. - The field of the 2014 NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Northeast Regional at the DCU Center in Worcester, Mass., hosted by the College of the Holy Cross on Saturday and Sunday, March 29-30, has been announced. In the first game on Saturday, the No. 1 seed and Hockey East regular season champion Boston College (26-7-4) will meet the No. 4 seed and National Collegiate Hockey Conference tournament champion Denver (20-15-6) at 4:00 p.m. These two programs have a won a combined 12 national championships with Denver winning seven and BC winning five. The second game will feature the No. 2 seed and 2013 and 2014 Hockey East Tournament champion UMass-Lowell (25-10-4) versus No. 3 seed and WCHA Tournament champion Minnesota State (26-13-1) at 7:30 p.m. The winners will advance to the regional championship game on Sunday at 5:00 p.m.

Tickets may be purchased at the DCU Center Box Office, all Ticketmaster locations, by phone at (800) 745-3000 and online at ticketmaster.com.

Holy Cross previously held this event at the DCU Center in 2008, 2010 and 2012. This will be the 13th overall time that the regional has been at the DCU Center. The total of 42 NCAA regional hockey games, which have been played at the DCU Center, are currently the most in the 66-year history of the Division I men's ice hockey tournament.

Ten of the 12 teams to win the regional in Worcester have gone on to play in the national championship game, with six of those teams winning the national title.

1993 – Maine (National Champion)

1995 – Boston University (National Champion)

1997 - Colorado College (lost in semifinals)

1999 – New Hampshire (lost in championship game)

2001 – Boston College (National Champion)

2002 – New Hampshire (lost in semifinals)

2003 – New Hampshire (lost in championship game)

2005 – North Dakota (lost in championship game)

2006 – Boston College (lost in championship game)

2008 – Boston College (National Champion)

2010 – Boston College (National Champion)

2012 – Boston College (National Champion)