14 Holy Cross Teams Receive NCAA Public Recognition Awards

WORCESTER, Mass. — Fourteen College of the Holy Cross varsity athletic teams have received Division I Academic Progress Rate (APR) public recognition awards from the NCAA. These teams posted multi-year APR scores in the top 10 percent of all squads in their respective sports. The Crusaders continue to increase the number of teams honored by the NCAA year over year, in 2012-13 a total of 11 squads received awards. Additionally, Holy Cross has received 11 public recognition awards or more in each of the last five school years.

Holy Cross’ total of 14 teams to earn public recognition awards tied for the seventh most in the nation with Davidson, Duke, Stanford and Yale. The only schools to receive more than 14 awards were Dartmouth (26), Brown (22), Bucknell (21), Lafayette (17), Pennsylvania (17) and Notre Dame (15).

“At Holy Cross, we take great pride in the fact that our student-athletes compete and achieve at the highest levels both in the classroom and in competition,” said Nathan Pine, director of athletics.  “Our young men and women put tremendous effort into their academic pursuits and I am thrilled to see them recognized for their success.”

The Crusader programs to receive public recognition awards are: baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country, football, men’s soccer, softball, men’s swimming and diving, women’s swimming and diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, women’s indoor track and field, and women’s outdoor track and field.

The APR provides a real-time look at a team’s academic success each semester by tracking the academic progress of each student-athlete on scholarship. The APR accounts for eligibility, retention and graduation and provides a measure of each team’s academic performance. For more details on the APR from the NCAA’s website, click here.

Full APR scores for all teams, including access to postseason play and penalties for low-performing teams, will be released on May 14.

For more information on the schools and teams honored by the NCAA, click here.