Allstate AFCA Good Works Team Candidates Announced

WORCESTER, Mass. - A hard-working and committed group of college football players will take the field this fall knowing that the impact they have on their teams and communities has nothing to do with touchdowns, tackles or receptions. For a second consecutive year, Allstate Insurance Company has partnered with the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) to announce the list of 106 student-athletes nominated for the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team, which honors college football players who make outstanding contributions in the areas of volunteerism and civic involvement.                                                                          

The total of 106 nominations submitted by sports information directors across the country on behalf of their teams surpasses all previous single-season nominee totals in the 18-year history of the award. The 2009 class of nominees represents 41 states, including Washington, D.C., and 45 college athletic conferences.

Included among the nominees is Holy Cross senior quarterback Dominic Randolph (Amelia, Ohio). The 2007 and 2008 Patriot League Offensive Player of the Year, Randolph has been involved with Big Brothers for the last three years, spending time with his Little Brother at least once a week.  For the past two years, he has been a co-liaison between the football team and the Big Brothers coordinator. In January of 2009, Randolph received the Dr. H. Martin Deranian Award from Big Brothers Big Sisters of Central Massachusetts / Metrowest, for demonstrating outstanding loyalty and dedication to his young mentee, as well as leadership and service. In addition, Randolph has volunteered at Holy Cross Cares Day, spending time participating in service-oriented activities such as painting, raking and picking up trash.

A special voting panel consisting of former Good Works Team members and prominent college football media members will be responsible for selecting two 11-player Good Works Teams - one composed of players from the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, and a combined team representing players from the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision, Divisions II, III, and the NAIA. 

A list of the players who have been nominated for consideration to be included among the 2009 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team follows.


Football Bowl Subdivision
Arizona Sate University - Mike Nixon
Auburn University - Walter McFadden
Ball State - Brandon Crawford
Baylor University - Joe Pawelek
Boise State University - Richie Brockel
Brigham Young University - Jan Jorgensen
Central Michigan University - Dan LeFevour
Clemson University - Xavier Dye
Colorado State University - Adrian Martinez
Duke University - Kevin Jones
Indiana University - Jammie Kirlew
Kansas State University - Jeron Mastrud
Louisiana State University - Lyle Hitt
Middle Tennessee State University - Phillip Tanner
Northern Illinois University - David Bryant
Northwestern University - Andrew Brewer
Ohio University - Lee Renfro
Ohio State University - Kurt Coleman
Oregon State University - Taylor Kavanaugh
Pennsylvania State University - Stefen Wisniewski
Rutgers University - Billy Anderson
San Jose State University - Travis Jones
Temple University - Dominique Harris
University of Akron - Alex Allen
University of Alabama - Javier Arenas
University of Arkansas - D.J. Williams
University of Central Florida - Rocky Ross
University of Florida - Tim Tebow
University of Georgia - Jeff Owens
University of Houston - Case Keenum
University of Iowa - Julian Vandervelde
University of Kansas - Darrell Stuckey
University of Kentucky - Alfonso Smith
University of Memphis - Dominik Riley
University of Michigan - Zoltan Mesko
University of Missouri - Kurtis Gregory
University of Nebraska-Lincoln - Roy Helu, Jr.
University of North Carolina - Kyle Jolly
University of Notre Dame - Jimmy Clausen
University of Oklahoma - Sam Bradford
University of Pittsburgh - Adam Gunn
University of South Carolina - Mauricus Brown
University of Texas - Austin - Jordan Shipley
University of California-Los Angeles - Derrick Coleman
University of Texas-El Paso - Cameron Raschke
U.S. Air Force Academy - Nick Charles
U.S. Naval Academy - Ross Pospisil
Virginia Polytechnic Institute- Tyrod Taylor
Wake Forest University - Benjamin Wooster
West Virginia University - Reed Williams
University of Wisconsin - Chris Maragos
Western Michigan University - Tim Hiller

Combined Divisions (FCS, II, III & NAIA)
Ashland University - Nick Bellanco
Beloit College - Joe Goldufsky
Bethel University (Minn.) - Reid Velo
Brevard College - Brandon Rawls
Carroll University (Minn.) - Mike Berg
Central College (Iowa) - Zach Van Arkel
Colby College - Roger Bel
Colorado School of Mines - David Pesek
University of the Cumberlands (Ky.) - Paul Hughes
Dana College - Nate Weathers
Delaware State University - Nick Richmond
Earlham College - Chris Owens
East Texas Baptist University - Michael Cucinotta
Eastern Washington University - Chris Thomas
Florida A&M University - Philip Sylvester
Georgetown University (D.C.) - Jon Cassidy
Hampton University - Michael Swett
Harding University - Brad Parker
Hillsdale College - Eric Schweller
College of the Holy Cross - Dominic Randolph
Jacksonville State University - Joshua Cain
John Carroll University - Joe Micca
Johns Hopkins University - Tim Miller
Langston University - Marquis Holden
University of Montana - Terran Hillesland
North Dakota State University - Richard Bowman
Northeastern University - Zachary Abrams
University of Northern Iowa - Joshua Mahoney
Northern State University - Brian Jark
Northwest Missouri State University - Sean Paddock
Ottawa University - Andrew Otto
University of Richmond - Kevin Grayson
Sacred Heart University - Mark Uyeno
Samford University - Ty Levie
Southeastern Louisiana University - Darnell Jones
Southwest Baptist University - Steve Gachette
Southwest Minnesota State University - Paul Muecke
St. Cloud State University - Doug Asquith
Saint Francis University (Pa.) - Russel Fisher
University of St. Thomas (Minn.)- Jeffrey Hilliard
Tarleton State University - Jacob Rowe
Texas A&M University-Commerce - Taylor Fore
Texas A&M University-Kingsville - Markeith Wesley
Tusculum College - Jarrell NeSmith
Valparaiso University - Adam Rundh
Villanova University - Benjamin Ijalana
Washington University-St. Louis - Tim Taylor
University of West Alabama - Dameon Baylor
West Texas A&M - James Chandler
Western New England College - David Doiron
Wilmington College - Billy Blackburn
University of Wisconsin-Platteville - George Katze
Wittenberg University - Lance Phillps
Youngstown State University - Aaron Pitt