Randolph Places Fifth In Voting For 2009 Walter Payton Award

Dominic Randolph

PHILADELPHIA, Pa. – Holy Cross senior quarterback Dominic Randolph (Amelia, Ohio) placed fifth in the voting for the 2009 Walter Payton Award, presented annually by the Sports Network to the top player in the Division I football championship subdivision. The Payton Award will be presented at the annual Sports Network awards dinner on Thursday, Dec. 17, in Chattanooga, Tenn. Randolph placed ninth in the Payton Award voting in 2008, after coming in 12th in 2007.

Voting, which is based on regular season performance only, was conducted among media members and media relations professionals covering the football championship subdivision. The top three players in the voting, Appalachian State quarterback Armanti Edwards, Elon wide receiver Terrell Hudgins and Southern Illinois running back Deji Karim, will be in attendance at the awards ceremony.

Randolph was previously named the Patriot League Offensive Player of the Year for the third straight season, after completing 310 of 485 passes this year for 3,776 yards and 34 touchdowns. He set new Holy Cross single-season records for yards of total offense (4,256) and touchdowns responsible for (41), while tying the mark for touchdown passes (34). Randolph led the nation in total offense, while standing second in points responsible for, third in completions, fourth in passing yards and 15th in pass efficiency.

Over the course of his career as a Crusader, he completed 1,131 of 1,786 passes for 13,455 yards and 117 touchdowns. Randolph owns the Holy Cross and Patriot League career records for yards of total offense (14,240 yards), passing yards, touchdown passes, completions and pass attempts.

Holy Cross concluded the 2009 season with an overall record of 9-3, and won the Patriot League championship with a 5-1 mark in conference games.

A list of the voting results for the 2009 Walter Payton Award follows.


NAME (SCHOOL) 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th Total
Armanti Edwards (Appalachian State) ??  ??  ??  ??  ??  ?? 
Terrell Hudgins (Elon) ??  ??  ??  ??  ??  ?? 
Deji Karim (Southern Illinois) ??  ??  ??  ??  ??  ?? 
Matt Nichols (Eastern Washington)  12  16  12  13  188 
Dominic Randolph (Holy Cross)  8  16  14  8  12  174 
Ryan Perrilloux (Jacksonville State) 11  18  142 
Jeremy Moses (Stephen F. Austin) 13  109 
William Ford (South Carolina State) 39 
Michael Herrick (Northern Arizona) 31 
Cameron Higgins (Weber State) 30 
Toddrick Penland (McNeese State) 29 
Curtis Pulley (Florida A&M) 26 
Chase Reynolds (Montana) 24 
Bryant Lee (Southern) 20 
Pat Grace (Northern Iowa) 18 
David Sinisi (Monmouth) 17 
Pat Devlin (Delaware) 16 
Andre Roberts (The Citadel) 13 
Trevyn Smith (Weber State) 12 
James Mallory (Central Connecticut State) 10 
*Matt Szczur (Villanova)
*Eric Ward (Richmond)
*Scott Riddle (Elon)
*Tim Toone (Weber State)

* – write-in candidate