Holy Cross' Mude Ohimor & Bill Edger Earn Preseason All-America Honors

Mude Ohimor

WORCESTER, Mass. – Holy Cross senior defensive end Mude Ohimor (Stoughton, Mass.) and senior wide receiver Bill Edger (Hainesport, N.J.) have been selected as preseason All-Americans by College Sporting News. Ohimor was named to the second team, while Edger was chosen to the third team. They were among just three players from New England and five players from the Patriot League to be honored.

Ohimor was previously named the preseason Patriot League Defensive Player of the Year, and was a preseason third team All-America selection by Phil Steele's 2010 College Football Preview. He played in all 12 games for the Crusaders last season, starting 11 times, and led all Holy Cross defensive linemen with 34 total tackles. Ohimor also ranked fourth in the Patriot League with seven sacks and ninth with nine tackles for loss, with both of those marks also leading the team. Over the course of his collegiate career, Ohimor has now totaled 59 tackles, seven sacks and 12 tackles for loss.

Edger saw action in all 12 games for Holy Cross last season, while starting 10 times. He led the team with 818 receiving yards on 49 catches in 2009, while ranking third on the team with five touchdown receptions. Edger was also third in the Patriot League in receiving yards and ninth in catches last season, while catching at least two passes in all 12 games. He has totaled 73 receptions for 1,163 yards and nine touchdowns over the course of his collegiate career, and enters the 2010 season with a streak of 20 straight games with at least one catch.

The Crusaders will open the 2010 season when they play host to Howard on Saturday, Sept. 4, at 1:00 p.m.

The complete 2010 College Sporting News preseason All-America team for the football championship subdivision follows.



QB   Michael Herrick, Northern Arizona
RB    Taiwan Jones, Eastern Washington
RB    Chase Reynolds, Montana
AP    Matt Szczur, Villanova
FB    Tersoo Uhaa, Furman
WR   Tysson Poots, Southern Utah
WR   Brian Quick, Appalachian State
WR   Simmie Yarbrough, Southeastern Louisiana
TE    Stephen Skelton, Fordham
T       Ben Ijalana, Villanova
T       Corey O'Daniel, Gardner-Webb
G      David Arkin, Missouri State
G      D.J. Hall, Texas State
C      Ryan McKnight, South Dakota State

DE    Christian Anthony, Grambling
DT    Kenrick Ellis, Hampton
DT    Martin Parker, Richmond
DE    Malcomb Taylor, Alcorn State
DL    Christian Clark, Sacramento State
LB    Eric McBride, Richmond
LB    J.C. Sherritt, Eastern Washington
LB    D.J. Smith, Appalachian State
LB    Jabara Williams, Stephen F. Austin
CB    Korey Lindsey, Southern Illinois
CB    Justin Rogers, Richmond
SS     Mark Legree, Appalachian State
FS     Mike McElroy, Southern Illinois
DB   Dino Vasso, New Hampshire

K      Matt Bevins, Liberty
P       Jonathan Plisco, Old Dominion
KR   Mareo Howard, Arkansas-Pine Bluff
PR    Kiare Thompson, Grambling
LS    Dustin Phillips, Old Dominion

QB   Pat Devlin, Delaware
RB    Ed Gowins, Stony Brook
RB    Devon Moore, Appalachian State
AP    Jonathan Grimes, William & Mary
FB    John Goode, Southern Illinois
WR   Da'Marcus Griggs, Texas State
WR   Domonique Johnson, Cal Poly
WR   Adam Mims, Furman
TE    Ben Jordan, Appalachian State
T       Johnny Culbreath, South Carolina State
T       Will Rackley, Lehigh
G      Pat Illig, Wofford
G      J.C. Oram, Weber State
C      Drew Lachenmeyer, Richmond

DE    Markell Carter, Central Arkansas
DT    Mike Stover, William & Mary
DT    Renard Williams, Eastern Washington
DE    Dan Ogden, Montana State
DL    Mude Ohimor, Holy Cross
LB    Kadarron Anderson, Furman
LB    Derek Domino, South Dakota State
LB    Bryce Smith, Samford
LB    Terence Thomas, Villanova
CB    Jeremy Caldwell, Eastern Kentucky
CB    Trumaine Johnson, Montana
SS     John Dempsey, Villanova
FS     Jason House, Southern
DB   T.J. Heath, Jacksonville State

K      Zach Brown, Portland State
P       Pedro Ventura, Prairie View
KR   Darrius Gates, Indiana State
PR    Fesi Sitake, Southern Utah
LS    Daniel Bonifas, Coastal Carolina

QB   K.J. Black, Prairie View
RB    Chris Evans, Samford
RB    Kyle Minett, South Dakota State
AP    Terrence Holt, Austin Peay
FB    Eric Brietenstein, Wofford
WR   Bill Edger, Holy Cross
WR   Mark Layton, Lafayette
WR   Mike Phillips, Weber State
TE    Schuyler Oordt, Northern Iowa
T       Mike Person, Montana State
T       David Pickard, Southern Illinois
G      Juavahr Nathan, South Carolina State
G      Eric Rodemoyer, Youngstown State
C      Joe D'Orazio, Penn

DE    Grant Hunter, Butler
DT    Desmund Lighten, McNeese State
DT    Brent Russell, Georgia Southern
DE    Dain Taylor, Drake
DL    Kenneth Charles, Stephen F. Austin
LB    Steven Cody, Princeton
LB    Cliff Exama, Grambling
LB    Kyle Glazier, Western Illinois
LB    Marty Patterson, Gardner-Webb
CB    Cortez Allen, The Citadel
CB    Josh Norman, Coastal Carolina
SS     Tommy Connors, Southeastern Louisiana
FS     James Vercammen, Dayton
DB   R.J. Webb, William & Mary

K      Wesley Skiffington, Stony Brook
P       Patrick Dolan, Nicholls State
KR   Frantz Placide, Wagner
PR    Alan Bonner, Jacksonville State
LS    Wilson Fitchett, Appalachian State