Edger Named A Semifinalist For The 2010 William V. Campbell Trophy

Bill Edger

DALLAS, Texas – Holy Cross senior wide receiver Bill Edger (Hainesport, N.J.) has been selected as one of 121 semifinalists for the 2010 William V. Campbell Trophy endowed by HealthSouth (formerly known as the Draddy Trophy), as announced by the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame. Each of the semifinalists is a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, with a grade point average of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, outstanding football ability as a starter or significant contributor, and strong leadership and citizenship skills.

"This year's Campbell Trophy semifinalists embody the National Football Foundation's mission of building leaders through football," said NFF Chairman Archie Manning whose sons Peyton (1997 Campbell Trophy winner) and Eli were named NFF National Scholar-Athletes in 1997 and 2003, respectively. "They are standouts in the classroom and on the field and have become leaders in their respective communities. Each school should take great pride in being represented by such well-rounded young men who will undoubtedly go on to do great things in life."

From the group of 121 semifinalists, the NFF awards committee will select and announce up to 15 finalists on Oct. 28. Each finalist will be recognized as part of the 2010 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class, receiving an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship. The Campbell Trophy winner, who will have his scholarship increased to $25,000, will be announced live at the NFF's annual awards dinner on Dec. 7 at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York. A total distribution of $277,000 in scholarships will be awarded that evening.

Edger has 10 catches for a team-high 163 yards and two touchdowns so far this year, even though he has missed two games due to injury. He previously totaled 49 receptions for a team-best 818 yards and five touchdowns in 2009, and has now recorded 83 catches for 1,326 yards and 11 scores during his collegiate career. In the classroom, Edger owns a cumulative grade point average of 3.23 with a major in economics.

A list of semifinalists for the 2010 William V. Campbell Trophy follows.



Air Force - Kevin Fogler
Alabama - Greg McElroy
Army - Carson Homme
Ball State - Ian McGarvey
Baylor - Derek Epperson
Boston College - Anthony Castonzo
BYU - Mitch Payne
California - Mike Mohamed
Colorado - Nate Solder
Colorado State - Eric Peitz
Florida State - Christian Ponder
Georgia - Kris Durham
Illinois - Anthony Santella
Indiana - Ben Chappell
Iowa - Julian Vandervelde
Kansas State - Corey Adams
Louisiana-Lafayette - Grant Fleming
Marshall - Lee Smith
Maryland - Travis Baltz
Middle Tennessee St. - Phillip Tanner
Minnesota - Adam Weber
Mississippi State - Derek Sherrod
Navy - Joe Buckley
Nebraska - Adi Kunalic
Northern Illinois - Mike Krause
Northwestern - Stefan Demos
Notre Dame - Chris Stewart
Ohio State - Bryant Browning
Oregon - Jordan Holmes
Penn State - Stefen Wisniewski
Purdue - Kyle Adams
Rutgers - Teddy Dellaganna
SMU - Pete Fleps
South Carolina - Garrett Chisolm
Stanford - Owen Marecic
Syracuse - Derrell Smith
TCU - Curtis Clay
Tennessee - Daniel Lincoln
Texas - Sam Acho
Texas A&M - Michael Hodges
UCLA - Daniel Rees
Utah - Zane Taylor
Vanderbilt - John Stokes
Washington St. - Chima Nwachukwu
Western Michigan - Phil Swanson
Wisconsin - Scott Tolzien
Wyoming - Chris Prosinski

Albany - Chris Blais
Austin Peay State - Bradley Williams
Brown - Kyle Newhall-Caballero
Bucknell - Travis Nissley
Colgate - Greg Sullivan
Columbia - Alex Gross
Dartmouth - Tanner Scott
Dayton - Brandon Wingeier
Delaware - Pat Devlin
Drake - Dan Clinton
Eastern Kentucky - Logan O'Connor
Holy Cross - Bill Edger
Marist - Terrence Turner
Montana - Andrew Selle
Montana State - Jordan Craney
Nicholls State - Patrick Dolan
Norfolk State - Anthony Taylor
North Dakota - Ty Boyle
North Dakota State - Drew Hushka
Northern Arizona - Michael Herrick
No. Colorado - Timothy McGraw
Sacramento State - Peter Buck
Saint Francis - Scott Lewis
South Dakota State - Conrad Kjerstad
Southern Utah - Tysson Poots
Towson - Yaky Ibia
Yale - Jesse Reising
Youngstown State - Stephen Blose

Ashland (Ohio) - Joe Horn
Bentley (Mass.) - Jared Kawadler
Clarion (Pa.) - Nick Sipes
Concordia (Minn.) - Hayden Vavra
East Stroudsburg (Pa.) - Matt Freed
Eastern New Mexico - Nathan Uland
Hillsdale (Mich.) - Phil Doerfler
Minnesota-Duluth - Isaac Odim
Newberry (S.C.) - Matt Holmes
Slippery Rock (Pa.) - C.J. Bahr
St. Cloud State (Minn.) - Joe Winandy
Wayne State (Mich.) - Matthew Faulkner

Augustana (Ill.) - Robert Wood
Bethel (Minn.) - Andrew Johnson
Bluffton (Ohio) - Aaron Wladischkin
Case Western Reserve (Ohio) - Zach Homyk
Centre (Ky.) - Kevin Harman
Christopher Newport (Va.) - Kenneth Hall
Cornell (Iowa) - Kyle Tierney
Dubuque (Iowa) - Michael Zweifel
Hampden-Sydney (Va.) - Will Riggenbach
Ithaca (N.Y.) - David Ahonen
Mount Union (Ohio) - Sam Kershaw
Occidental (Calif.) - Alex Wertheimer
Rhodes (Tenn.) - Andrew Meier
Rowan (N.J.) - Matt Hoffman
Saint John's (Minn.) - Jeff Gilbertson
Saint Thomas (Minn.) - Ben Wartman
Trine (Ind.) - Tyler Terry
Trinity (Conn.) - Michael Galligan
Union (N.Y.) - Andrew Trochanowski
Ursinus (Pa.) - Joseph Galie
Wartburg (Iowa) - Andrew Creary
Washington & Jefferson (Pa.) - Nathan Harmotto
Washington (Mo.) - Brandon Brown
Wisconsin-Eau Claire - Ben Shea
Wisconsin-Stevens Point - Jake Swank
Wisconsin-Whitewater - Aaron Rusch
Wittenberg (Ohio) - Jeremy Block

Bethel (Tenn.) - John Graham
Carroll (Mont.) - Mike Waldenberg
Cumberland (Tenn.) - Todd Holman
Dakota State (S.D.) - Josh Windsor
Morningside (Iowa) - Marshall Tuttle
Ottawa (Kan.) - Fielding Brenner
Cumberlands (Ky.) - Madison McCalmon