Football Team Places 32 Players On Patriot League Academic Honor Roll

Freddie Santana

WORCESTER, Mass. – Thirty-two members of the Holy Cross football team have been selected to the 2010 Patriot League Academic Honor Roll, as announced by the conference office. Leading the Crusaders was senior offensive lineman Mike McCabe (Watertown, Conn.), who was named to the Academic Honor Roll for the fourth time during his collegiate career.

Three Crusaders are making their third career appearance on the Academic Honor Roll, in senior defensive back Dakota Allosso (Virginia Beach, Va.), senior defensive lineman Marcus Morgan (Aurora, Colo.) and junior defensive back Cav Koch (Austin, Texas). Holy Cross players named to the team for the second time in their careers include senior tight end Mike Argillander (Detroit, Mich.), senior placekicker Rob Dornfried (Berlin, Conn.), senior defensive lineman Matt Ferrel (San Francisco, Calif.), senior linebacker Perry Townsend (Frankford, Del.), junior tight end Mike Wright (Quincy, Mass.) and sophomore tight end Reed Apfelbaum (Upper St. Clair, Pa.).

The Crusaders had 22 other players selected to the Academic Honor Roll for the first time, in senior offensive lineman Graham Gawryszewski (Garfield Heights, Ohio), senior defensive back Pat Haidon (West Seneca, N.Y.), senior defensive back Alex Johnson (Indianapolis, Ind.), senior defensive lineman Mude Ohimor (Stoughton, Mass.), senior wide receiver Freddie Santana (Staten Island, N.Y.), senior quarterback Ryan Taggart (Bedford, Texas), junior placekicker Pat Lowe (Northborough, Mass.), junior wide receiver Clinton McCabe (Poughkeepsie, N.Y.), junior punter Corey Page (Tampa, Fla.), junior quarterback Mark Tolzien (Rolling Meadows, Ill.), junior offensive lineman Sean Whited (Canton, Ohio), sophomore offensive lineman Fred Hilow (Lakewood, Ohio), sophomore tailback Eddie Houghton (Toronto, Ontario), sophomore defensive back Tom Mannix (Kenilworth, N.J.), sophomore offensive lineman Kyle Pedretty (Dunedin, Fla.), freshman linebacker Pete Anastasio (Camp Hill, Pa.), freshman quarterback Joe Barber (Rye, N.Y.), freshman defensive back Philip Gough (Hinsdale, Ill.), freshman placekicker John Macomber (Vienna, Va.), freshman offensive lineman Emanuel Mendoza (Bronx, N.Y.), freshman wide receiver Jon Smith (Matawan, N.J.) and freshman linebacker Tyler Zeoli (King of Prussia, Pa.).

A total of 196 student-athletes from football teams around the league earned spots on this year's Academic Honor Roll. To be eligible for the Academic Honor Roll, a student-athlete must earn a grade point average of 3.20 or better during the fall semester.

The Crusaders, who finished the 2010 season with an overall record of 6-5 and placed second in the Patriot League with a 3-2 mark in conference games, are scheduled to open spring practice on Saturday, March 19.

For the complete Patriot League Academic Honor Roll in PDF format, click here.