Three Crusaders Receive Preseason All-America Honors

Chandler Fenner

WORCESTER, Mass. – Three members of the Holy Cross football team have been named preseason All-Americans by the FCS Senior Scout Bowl. Senior cornerback Chandler Fenner (Virginia Beach, Va.) and senior linebacker Ricky Otis (Cleves, Ohio) were both selected to the second team, while senior linebacker C.J. Martin (Plano, Texas) was an honorable mention selection.

Fenner played in all 11 games at cornerback for the Crusaders in 2010, starting 10 times and receiving first team All-Patriot League honors. He ranked fifth on the team and 29th in the Patriot League with 58 total tackles, including 51 solo stops, one quarterback sack and two tackles for loss. Fenner also recorded four pass breakups, a forced fumble, a fumble recovery and a blocked punt. Over the course of his Holy Cross career, Fenner has now totaled 90 tackles, two forced fumbles and four pass breakups in 33 games played.

Otis earned first team All-Patriot League honors in 2010, after playing in nine games and starting every time. Despite missing two games early in the year due to injury, he led the team with 108 total tackles, including 74 solo stops and two tackles for loss. Otis also registered a forced fumble, a pass breakup and two fumble recoveries this season. He led the Patriot League in tackles and ranked second in fumble recoveries, while reaching double-figures in tackles seven times. Over the course of his collegiate career, Otis has now totaled 135 tackles in 28 games played.

Martin saw action in all 11 games for Holy Cross in 2010, starting 10 times. He finished the year ranked second on the team with 95 total tackles, including 61 solo stops and two tackles for loss. Martin also had two interceptions, two pass breakups and a forced fumble last season. At the conclusion of the 2010 campaign, he ranked fourth in the Patriot League in tackles and sixth in interceptions, while standing 42nd in the nation in solo tackles. Over the course of his career as Crusader, Martin has now recorded 128 tackles, two interceptions, three pass breakups and four tackles for loss.

The FCS Senior Scout Bowl is a postseason all-star game showcasing the talent of senior players from the NCAA FCS Division (formerly I-AA ) football level. This bowl game is presented by the Collegiate Development Football League and will be held December 17, 2011, in Myrtle Beach, S.C. Player selections for this showcase game begin with the announcement of the FCS Senior Scout Bowl preseason All-America team. This team recognizes the football achievements of senior players who are entering their final season on the FCS level. The FCS Senior Scout Bowl selection committee will review player performance throughout the 2011 season and are committed to bring 86 of the top players to the FCS Senior Scout Bowl in a " North vs. South" format.

The Crusaders  are scheduled to open the 2011 season when they play host to UMass at 8:00 p.m. on Thursday, Sept. 1, in the first-ever night game at Fitton Field.

The complete 2011 FCS Senior Scout Bowl preseason All-America team follows.

North Offense
First Team
QB-Bo Levi Mitchell-Eastern Washington
RB-Taiwan Jones-Eastern Washington
RB-Nate Eachus-Colgate
FB-John Goode-SouthernIllinois
WR-Marvin Sanders-Illinois State
WR-Mitchell Bennett-Lafayette
TE-Shadrae King-RobertMorris
C-Chris Powers-Eastern Washington
G-J.C. Oram-Weber State
OL-Tom Compton-South Dakota
T-David Pickard-Southern Illinois
T-Jeff Adams-Columbia
RET-Tavoy Moore-Idaho State
K-Jason Cunningham-Montana State

South Offense
First Team

QB-De Andre Presley-Appalachian State
FB-Eric Breitenstein-Wofford
RB-Jonathan Grimes-William and Mary
FB-Tarsoo Uhaa-Furman
WR-Tim Benford-Tennessee Tech
WR-Chris Summers-Liberty
TE-Garrett Hughes-UT-Chattanooga
C-Roane Babington-James Madison
G-Alex Mott-Northern Arizona
G- DJ Hall-Texas State
T-George Bias-Stephen F. Austin
OL-Rodney Austin-Elon
RET-Mareo Howard-Arkansas-Pine Bluff
K-Matt Bevins-Liberty

North Defense
First Team
LB-Tyler Holmes-UMass
LB-A.J. Storms-Idaho State
LB-Jordan Haynes-Yale
LB-Mike Groome-Lehigh
DL-Ben Boothby-Northern Iowa
DL-Renard Williams-Eastern Washington
DE-Brian McNally-New Hampshire
DE-Zack Nash-Sacramento State
DB-Trumaine Johnson-Montana
SS-Matt Johnson-Eastern Washington
DB-Mike McElroy-Southern Illinois
S-Jose Gumbs-Monmouth
P-Dave Harrington-Idaho State

South Defense
First Team
LB-Jake Trantin-William & Mary
LB-Kadarron Anderson-Furman
LB-Cliff Exama-Grambling
LB-Devine Ducote-Stephen F. Austin
DL-Jamison Wadley-Jacksonville State
DL-Jerome Raymond-Morehead State
DE-Mario Kurn-San Diego
DE-Ameet Pall-Wofford
DB-Jeremy Caldwell-Eastern Kentucky
DB-Moses Ellis-Prairie View A&M
DB-Josh Norman-Coastal Carolina
DB-Ryan Steed-Furman
P-Charlie Edwards-Georgia Southern

North Offense
Second Team
QB-Tirrell Rennie-Northern Iowa
RB-D.J. McNorton-North Dakota State
RB-Nick Schwieger-Dartmouth
WR-Matt Brevi-Stoney Brook
WR-Julian Talley-UMass
TE-Chris Jeannot-New Hampshire
C-Bryan Boemer-Southern Illinois
OL-Logan Miles-Robert Morris
OL-Paul Cornick-North Dakota State
T-Caleb Turner-Weber State
T-Gabe Jackson-Eastern Washington
RET-Anthony Coleman-Robert Morris
K-Patrick Jacob-Princeton

South Offense
Second Team
QB-Casey Therriault-Jackson State
RB-Mike Mayhew-North Carolina A&T
RB-Mike Harris-Murray State
WR-Simmie Yarborough-Southeast Louisiana
WR-Brian Quick-Appalachian State
TE-David Duran-Coastal Carolina
C-Nat Curry-Bethune-Cookman
G-Brett Moore-Georgia Southern
G-Gino Gradkowski-Delaware
T-Shea Allard-Delaware
T-Orry Frye-Appalachian State
RET-Dontrell Johnson-Murray State
K-Blake Erickson-South Carolina State

North Defense
Second Team
LB-Ricky Otis-Holy Cross
LB-Caleb McSurdy-Montana
LB-Nick Webb-Weber State
LB-Josh Howe-Illinois State
DL-Tyler Osborne-Southern Utah
DL-Bryan Waldhauser-Montana
DE-Mike Catapano-Princeton
DE-Coulter Boyer-North Dakota State
DB-Kyle Flemings-New Hampshire
DB-Chandler Fenner-Holy Cross
DB-James Pitts-Villanova
DB-Samad Wagstaff-Bryant
P-Dominic Scamecchia-Villanova

South Defense
Second Team
LB-Tony Bachman-Morehead State
LB-Rico Counsel-Tennessee State
LB-A.J. Gross-VMI
LB-Monte Lewis-Jacksonville State
DL-Emory Attig-Eastern Kentucky
DL-Andrew Schaetzke-Georgetown
DE-Isaac Bond-Northern Arizona
DE-Gavin Cooper-Cal Poly
DB-Torez Jones-Western Carolina
DB-Asa Jackson-Cal Poly
DB-Al-Rilwan Adeyemi-San Diego
DB-Laron Scott-Georgia Southern
P-Matt Myers-Northern Arizona

North Team
Honorable Mention (Offense & Defense)
LB-Julian Stanford-Wagner
DE-Ed Delaney-Albany
WR-Norman White-Villanova
LB-Preston Evans-North Dakota State
QB-Brad Sorenson-Southern Utah
DB-Jaquan Bryant-Marist
RB-Cory McCaffery-Portland State
WR-Norman White-Villanova
LB-C.J. Martin-Holy Cross
OL-Austin Richard-North Dakota State
DE-James Jenkins-New Hampshire
WR-Jim Saros-Brown
OL-Ron Dunn-Duquesne
QB-Tirell Rennie-Northern Iowa
LS-John Behm-Davidson
DB/R-Shaun Abuhoff-Dartmouth
DT-Josue Ortiz-Harvard
DL-Devon Langhorst-Dayton
LB-Donte Dennis-Maine
RB-Bryan Hilliard-Sacramento State

South Team
Honorable Mention (Offense & Defense)
QB-B.J. Coleman-Chattanooga
DL-Jimmy Daniels-Alabama State
QB-Mike Brown-Liberty
DB-Byron Allen-VMI
FB-Kendall Gaskins-Richmond
DL-Donovan Robinson-Jackson State
LB-Jake Trantin-William & Mary
CB-Jayah Kaisamba-Georgetown
WR-Ben Jorden-Appalachian State
OL-Miguel Gauthreaux-McNeese State
WR-Joel Bradford-Chattanooga
QB-Casey Brockman-Murray State
OG-James Dekle-Prairie View
LS-Wilson Fitchett-Appalachian State
C-Brenton Ferrell-N.C. A&T
LB-Marty Patterson-Gardner-Webb
WR-Jermaine Safford-Missouri State
WR-Willie Carter-Howard
TE-Alex Gottlieb-William & Mary
K-Kiernan Cullen-Murray State