McCabe Selected To New England All-Star Team

Mike McCabe

WORCESTER, Mass. – Holy Cross senior offensive tackle Mike McCabe (Watertown, Conn.) has been selected to the 2011 New England Football Championship Subdivision All-Star team, as announced by the New England Football Writers. This marks the second straight season McCabe earned All-New England honors. He was one of 28 players from around New England named to the squad, which will be honored at the New England Football Writers Banquet on Dec. 8 in Stoneham, Mass.

McCabe was previously named first team All-Patriot League this year, after being named first team All-Conference in 2010 and second team All-League in 2009. He started all 11 games for the Crusaders at left tackle this season, as the leader of an offensive line which paved the way for Holy Cross to average 22.9 points and 400.9 yards of total offense per game. McCabe and the offensive line also allowed just 21 sacks this year, while the team attempted 431 passes (just one sack for every 21.5 times the team dropped back to pass). He is also a three-time ESPN / CoSIDA Academic All-District selection and two-time Academic All-Patriot League honoree for his work in the classroom. During his time at Holy Cross, McCabe played in 47 career games with 36 starts along the offensive line, including a streak of 34 consecutive starts to end his career.
The Crusaders finished the 2011 campaign with an overall record of 6-5, while placing second in the Patriot League with a 3-2 mark in conference games. Holy Cross also posted a winning record for the seventh straight season.
A complete list of the 2011 All-New England football teams follows.

OL, Ricky Archer, So., New Hampshire
OL, Tony Edwards, Sr., Bryant
OL, Chris Howley, Jr., Maine
OL, Mike McCabe, Sr., Holy Cross
OL, Kevin Murphy, Sr., Harvard
OL, Ryan O'Neill, Sr., Dartmouth
RB, Jordan Brown, Jr., Bryant
RB, Nick Schwieger, Sr., Dartmouth
QB, Kevin Decker, Sr., New Hampshire
WR, Anthony Baskerville, Sr., Rhode Island
WR, Maurice McDonald, Jr., Maine
WR, Julian Talley, Sr., Massachusetts
TE, Matt Tracey, Sr., Bryant
DL, Brian McNally, Sr., New Hampshire
DL, Josue Ortiz, Sr., Harvard
DL, Eddie Smith, Sr., Dartmouth
DL, Charles Williams, Sr., Central Connecticut
LB, Matt Evans, Jr., New Hampshire
LB, Alex Gedeon, Sr., Harvard
LB, Tyler Holmes, Sr., Massachusetts
LB, Jordan Haynes, Sr., Yale
DB, AJ Cruz, Jr., Brown
DB, Matthew Hanson, Sr.¸Harvard
DB, Jerron McMillan, Sr., Maine
DB, Stephen Peyton, Sr., Brown

PK, Chris Rogers, Fr., Sacred Heart
P, Nathan Lovett, Sr., Brown
RS, Jesse Julmiste, Sr., Massachusetts