Football Team Places 28 Players On Patriot League Academic Honor Roll

Cav Koch

WORCESTER, Mass. – Twenty-eight members of the Holy Cross football team have been selected to the 2011 Patriot League Academic Honor Roll, as announced by the conference office. Leading the Crusaders was senior offensive lineman Mike McCabe (Watertown, Conn.), who was named to the Academic Honor Roll for the fifth time during his collegiate career. In addition, senior defensive back Cav Koch (Austin, Texas) made the team for the fourth straight season.

Two Crusaders are making their third career appearance on the Academic Honor Roll, in senior tight end Mike Wright (Quincy, Mass.) and junior tight end Reed Apfelbaum (Upper St. Clair, Pa.). Holy Cross players named to the team for the second time in their careers include senior quarterback Ryan Taggart (Bedford, Texas), senior punter Corey Page (Tampa, Fla.), senior quarterback Mark Tolzien (Rolling Meadows, Ill.), junior tight end Josh Hauser (Dallas, Texas), junior offensive lineman Fred Hilow (Lakewood, Ohio), junior defensive back Tom Mannix (Kenilworth, N.J.), junior offensive lineman Sean Whited (Canton, Ohio), sophomore linebacker Pete Anastasio (Camp Hill, Pa.), sophomore defensive back Philip Gough (Hinsdale, Ill.), sophomore placekicker John Macomber (Vienna, Va.) and sophomore linebacker Tyler Zeoli (King of Prussia, Pa.).

The Crusaders had 13 other players selected to the Academic Honor Roll for the first time, in senior running back Francis Camara (Reading, Pa.), senior placekicker Paul Tearson (Austin, Texas), senior linebacker Jimmy Thomas (Severn, Md.), junior placekicker Patrick Jarvis (Hopkinton, Mass.), junior tight end Alex Schneider (Inver Grove Heights, Minn.), sophomore defensive back Chris Higgins (Miramar, Fla.), sophomore quarterback Max Librizzi (Essex Junction, Vt.), sophomore defensive back Andrew Zitnik (Warren, Ohio), freshman defensive back Cody Butler (Hughesville, Pa.), freshman defensive back Ben Coffaro (Cincinnati, Ohio), freshman defensive back Sam Jones (Canal Winchester, Ohio), freshman running back Michael O'Dwyer (Denver, Colo.) and freshman quarterback Michael Shewchuk (Chicago, Ill.).

A total of 191 student-athletes from football teams around the league earned spots on this year's Academic Honor Roll. To be eligible for the Academic Honor Roll, a student-athlete must earn a grade point average of 3.20 or better during the fall semester.

The Crusaders, who finished the 2011 season with an overall record of 6-5 and placed second in the Patriot League with a 4-2 mark in conference games, are scheduled to open spring practice on Saturday, March 17.

For the complete Patriot League Academic Honor Roll in PDF format, click here.