Vote Now On Holy Cross Football Ring Of Honor Candidates

WORCESTER, Mass. -- In the fall of 2012, the College of the Holy Cross will honor the third class of the Crusader Football Legends Ring of Honor. 

A minimum of three players will be honored this year (one each from the eras of 1896-1949, 1950-1982 and 1983-present).  Each of the inductees will be honored during a ceremony at Fitton Field with permanent recognition in the stadium.

"Holy Cross has a long and storied tradition in the sport of football," said athletic director Richard M. Regan, Jr. "We are pleased to continue this annual event to recognize the contributions of those who have played such a crucial role in our football history."

The players to be honored will be chosen by a special committee as well as fan voting.  The committee includes representatives from the Holy Cross Athletic Department, the Gridiron Club Leadership Council, the Holy Cross Varsity Club and the Holy Cross Development Office. Fan voting will account for a percentage of the final tally.

From March 30-April 30, fans will be able to vote from among the semifinalists selected by the committee from the three different eras: 1896-1949, 1950-1982 and 1983-present. Click on the links below to vote for the players from each era, or click on a player's name below to view biographical information on that individual.

Players who have already been inducted into the Ring of Honor include: George Connor (Class of ex1946), Gill Fenerty (Class of 1986), Bruce Kozerski (Class of 1984), Gordie Lockbaum (Class of 1988), Jon Morris (Class of 1964), Edmund Murphy (Class of 1943), Bill Osmanski (Class of 1939), Vince Promuto (Class of 1960), John Provost (Class of 1975) and Joe Wilson (Class of 1973).


1896-1949: Click Here to Vote! 1950-1982: Click Here to Vote! 1983-present: Click Here to Vote!
Ronald Cahill Jim Buonopane Tom Ciaccio
Charles Harvey Tom Greene Harry Flaherty
Stan Kozlowski Henry Lemire Jerry McCabe
Hilary Mahaney Charlie Maloy Rob McGovern
Martin Murray Pat McCarthy David Murphy
Albert "Hop" Riopel Chet Millett Joe Segreti
Louis Sockalexis Johnny Turco Jeff Wiley