Macomber Named To CFPA Placekicker Award Watch List

John Macomber

WORCESTER, Mass. - Holy Cross junior placekicker John Macomber (Vienna, Va.) has been selected to the 2012 College Football Performance Awards Watch List for the Football Championship Subdivision Placekicker Award. Macomber was among 37 players from teams around the nation named to the list. 

Macomber appeared in 10 games for the Crusaders last year, as both a placekicker and kickoff specialist. He connected on 12 of 15 field goal attempts and 20 of 26 extra points for a team-best 56 points scored, while averaging 58.2 yards on 21 kickoffs. Macomber tied the school single-season record of 12 field goals made (which had previously been done five other times), and ranked third in the Patriot League and 27th in the nation in field goals made. Following the season, he received first team Capital One Academic All-District honors, in addition to being selected to the Academic All-Patriot League team.

The purpose of the College Football Performance Awards is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in college football. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. As prominent scholars from a wide variety of disciplines note, CFPA eliminates the politics and biases that vitiate balloting-based awards. For more information, visit


2012 CFPA FCS Placekicker Award Watch List

• Chance Wilson, Alabama A&M
• Drew Stewart, Appalachian State
• Stephen Stansell, Austin Peay
• Sean Baner, Delaware
• Charlie Leventry, Duquesne
• Adam Shreiner, Elon
• Trever Austin, Gardner-Webb
John Macomber, Holy Cross
• Brendon Garcia, Idaho State
• James Esco, Jacksonville State
• Cameron Starke, James Madison
• Jason Myers, Marist
• Eric Spillane, Monmouth
• Rainer Duzan, Morehead State
• Mike MacArthur, New Hampshire
• Everett Goldberg, Norfolk State
• Oleg Parent, North Carolina Central
• Zeb Miller, North Dakota
• Tyler Sievertsen, Northern Iowa
• John Shaughnessy, Northwestern State
• Jarod Brown, Old Dominion
• Zach Brown, Portland State
• Wil Kamin, Richmond
• Greg Langer, Robert Morris
• Chris Rogers, Sacred Heart
• Cameron Yaw, Samford
• Kevin Robb, South Dakota
• Colton Cook, Southern Utah
• Josh Thiel, St. Francis (Pa.)
• Jordan Wiggs, Stephen F. Austin
• Wesley Skiffington, Stony Brook
• Cody Sandlin, Tennessee-Martin
• Jamin Godfrey, Tennessee State
• D.J. Soven, Towson
• Mark Hamilton, Villanova
• Drake Kuhn, William & Mary
• Christian Reed, Wofford