Vote For Tom Gilmore As The Liberty Mutual Coach Of The Year

Head Coach Tom Gilmore

WORCESTER, Mass. - College football fans across the nation now have the chance to help select the winner of the 2012 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award. From now until Dec. 1, Holy Cross fans can vote for head coach Tom Gilmore at

Kicking off its seventh season, the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award is the only college football award that supports both charity and scholarship through its winners. It honors one coach in each NCAA division who best exemplifies sportsmanship, integrity, responsibility and excellence on and off the field. Liberty Mutual will donate $50,000 to support the charities of each winning coach and $20,000 to his school's alumni association for academic scholarships.

In both 2009 and 2011, Gilmore was one of five finalists for the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award. A two-time Patriot League Coach of the Year (in 2006 and 2009), Gilmore currently owns an overall record of 51-39 during his nine seasons at Holy Cross.

Now through Dec. 1, fans can use their PC, tablet or mobile device to visit and post a pre-populated tweet to cast their Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year vote. Fans can then follow the Coach of the Year voting and discussion on Twitter using #COTY2012. Fan votes and an objective scoring model endorsed by the National Football Foundation & College Football Hall of Fame will determine the finalists, who will be announced Dec. 4 at the National Football Foundation Awards Dinner Press Conference in New York City. The winners will be announced Jan. 7, 2013, in South Florida, in advance of the BCS championship game.

The Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award celebrates college football coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS), Football Championship Subdivision (FCS), Division II and Division III for their successful seasons, student-athletes' performance in the classroom, and charitable and civic support in their communities. Since 2006, Liberty Mutual Insurance has awarded more than $1.5 million to over 90 charities and colleges across the country as part of its annual Coach of the Year Award.