Macomber Named To CFPA Placekicker Award Watch List

John Macomber

WORCESTER, Mass. - Holy Cross senior placekicker John Macomber (Vienna, Va.) has been selected to the 2013 College Football Performance Awards Watch List for the Football Championship Subdivision Placekicker Award. Macomber was among 32 players from teams around the nation named to the list. 

Macomber was named second team All-Patriot League as both a punter and placekicker last season, in addition to being selected to the New England Football Writers All-Star team. He ranked second on the team with 55 points scored last year, hitting 10 of 13 field goal attempts (including a long of 46 yards) and 25 of 26 extra points. Macomber also averaged 40.9 yards on 62 punts, with a long of 59 yards and 23 kicks downed inside the opponent's 20-yard line. In addition, he averaged 62.4 yards on 47 kickoffs with 21 touchbacks. Over the course of his career as a Crusader, Macomber has now made 22 of 28 field goals and 45 of 52 extra points, for a total of 111 points scored. His 22 career field goals made currently rank sixth all-time at Holy Cross.

The purpose of the College Football Performance Awards is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in college football. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. As prominent scholars from a wide variety of disciplines note, CFPA eliminates the politics and biases that vitiate balloting-based awards. For more information, visit


2013 CFPA FCS Placekicker Award Watch List

• Bobby Wenzig, Alabama State
• Alexander Norocea, Brown
• Bobby Zalud, Cal Poly
• Eddie Camara, Central Arkansas
• Sean Baner, Delaware
• Cameron Berra, Eastern Illinois
• Chase Varnadore, Florida A&M
• Ray Early, Furman
John Macomber, Holy Cross
• Nick Aussieker, Illinois State
• Tanner Fritschle, Indiana State
• Eric Spillane, Monmouth
• Chris Lider, Montana
• Rory Perez, Montana State
• Jordan Benton, Murray State
• Andy Wilder, Northern Arizona
• Mike MacArthur, New Hampshire
• Andrew Dolan, Nicholls State
• Zeb Miller, North Dakota
• Adam Keller, North Dakota State
• Tyler Sievertsen, Northern Iowa
• Jarod Brown, Old Dominion
• Chris Barrick, Prairie View A&M
• Edgar Castaneda, Sacramento State
• Justin Syrovatka, South Dakota State
• Colton Cook, Southern Utah
• Jordan Wiggs, Stephen F. Austin
• Jamin Godfrey, Tennessee State
• Brady Stuart, UC Davis
• David Lopez, Wagner
• Shaun McClain, Weber State
• Kasey Redfern, Wofford