Football Places 38 Players On Patriot League Academic Honor Roll

Philip Gough

WORCESTER, Mass. – Thirty-eight members of the Holy Cross football team have been selected to the 2013 Patriot League Academic Honor Roll, as announced by the conference office. Leading the Crusaders were senior linebacker Pete Anastasio (Camp Hill, Pa.), senior defensive back Philip Gough (Hinsdale, Ill.) and senior placekicker John Macomber (Vienna, Va.), who were all named to the Academic Honor Roll for the fourth time during their collegiate careers. Holy Cross' 38 total selections to the team were the most in the conference.

Four Crusaders are making their third career appearance on the Academic Honor Roll, in senior offensive lineman Emanuel Mendoza (Bronx, N.Y.), senior wide receiver Jon Smith (Matawan, N.J.), junior defensive back Sam Jones (Canal Winchester, Ohio), junior quarterback Michael Shewchuk (Chicago, Ill.) and senior linebacker Tyler Zeoli (King of Prussia, Pa.). Holy Cross players named to the team for the second time in their careers include senior defensive lineman Jack Daly (Hopkinton, Mass.), senior wide receiver Mike Fess (Caldwell, N.J.), senior tight end Max Librizzi (Essex Junction, Vt.), senior defensive lineman Mike Tucker (Chester Springs, Pa.), junior offensive lineman Cain Lamper (Muncy, Pa.), junior wide receiver Jereme Murray (State College, Pa.), sophomore defensive back Dabness Atkins (Long Beach, Calif.), sophomore defensive back Matt Bhaya (Haddonfield, N.J.), sophomore defensive back Coan Calabrese (Rockwall, Texas) and sophomore defensive lineman Clint Jackman (Dublin, Calif.).

The Crusaders had 20 other players selected to the Academic Honor Roll for the first time, in senior offensive lineman Jay Knighton (Pottstown, Pa.), senior linebacker Scotty O'Donoghue (Tampa, Fla.), senior linebacker George Sessoms (Peabody, Mass.), senior wide receiver Kyle Toulouse (Arlington, Va.), senior running back Reggie Woods (Bowie, Md.), junior quarterback Steven Elder (San Antonio, Texas), junior long snapper Matt Fava (Wayne, N.J.), junior linebacker Charlie Murphy (Old Mill Creek, Ill.), junior linebacker Ryan Neumann (Saddle River, N.J.), junior defensive back Diego Quintanar (Windermere, Fla.), junior offensive lineman Pat Restrepo (Chester Springs, Pa.), sophomore linebacker J.T. Frank (Roseville, Calif.), sophomore placekicker Andrew Rhodes (St. Louis, Mo.), sophomore linebacker Ryan Smith (Union, Ky.), freshman defensive lineman Dean Doe (Burke, Va.), freshman defensive back Luke Ford (Wilmette, Ill.), freshman running back Gabe Guild (Overland Park, Kan.), freshman tight end Mark McGuire (Woburn, Mass.), freshman offensive lineman James Murray (Willmette, Ill.) and freshman wide receiver Jake Wieczorek (Cumming, Ga.).

A total of 168 student-athletes from football teams around the league earned spots on this year's Academic Honor Roll. To be eligible for the Academic Honor Roll, a student-athlete must earn a grade point average of 3.20 or better during the fall semester.

The Crusaders, who finished the 2013 season with an overall record of 3-9 and a 1-5 mark in the Patriot League, are scheduled to open spring practice on Saturday, March 15.

For the complete Patriot League Academic Honor Roll in PDF format, click here.