Holy Cross Places 15 On League All-Academic Team

Jan. 25, 2008

WORCESTER, Mass. - Fifteen members of the Holy Cross football team have been selected to the 2007 Patriot League Academic Honor Roll, as announced by the league office. Leading the Crusaders were six seniors, in defensive back Seun Bayode (Tampa, Fla.), defensive lineman Will Collins (Shrewsbury, Mass.), linebacker Mark Kelliher (Whitman, Mass.), wide receiver Justin Maher (Milford, Conn.), tight end Ryan McGuire (Woburn, Mass.) and defensive lineman Adam Sadowski (Tucson, Ariz.).

Other Holy Cross players named to the team were junior offensive lineman Luke Botting (Hamilton, Ohio), freshman wide receiver Luke Chmielinski (Walpole, Mass.), sophomore linebacker Andrew Cialino (Medford, N.J.), junior placekicker Kyle DiLella (Gibbstown, N.J.), sophomore wide receiver Bill Edger (Hainesport, N.J.), sophomore quarterback Joe Kosich (Southampton, Pa.), sophomore defensive lineman Nicholas MacDonald (Lackawanna, N.Y.), freshman offensive lineman Mike McCabe (Watertown, Conn.) and junior offensive lineman Chris Smith (Buffalo, N.Y.).

A total of 124 student-athletes from football teams around the league earned spots on this year's Academic Honor Roll. To be eligible for the Academic Honor Roll, a student-athlete must earn a grade point average of 3.20 or better during the fall semester, and be a starter or key reserve on his team.

The Crusaders, who went 7-4 overall and 4-2 in the Patriot League last year, are scheduled to open spring practice on Thursday, March 20.

For the complete Patriot League Academic Honor Roll in PDF format, click here.