Football Announces Team Awards For 2006 Season

Feb. 10, 2007

WORCESTER, Mass. - The Holy Cross football team has announced its team awards for the 2006 season. The awards were presented at the team's annual banquet, held on Saturday, February 10, in the Hogan Campus Center.

Leading the award winners was sophomore quarterback Dominic Randolph (Amelia, Ohio), who was named the 2006 Crusader Most Valuable Player. Randolph led the Holy Cross offense by completing 184 of 299 passes for 2,237 yards and 19 touchdowns with just six interceptions. A complete list of award recipients follows:

WTAG Offensive Player of the Year:
Dominic Randolph

WTAG Defensive Player of the Year:
Dan Adams

WTAG Special Teams Player of the Year:
Bill McCarthy

Davitt Awards
(Presented annually to the top back and lineman on both offense and defense. They were instituted by Jim Davitt (Class of 1913) of Holyoke, Mass., in memory of his brother, Rev. William Davitt Class of 1907), who played football and ran track while at Holy Cross, and was the last United States officer to lose his life in World War I.)
Offensive Back: Ryan Maher
Offensive Lineman: Andrew Schoepfer
Defensive Back: Casey Gough
Defensive Lineman: Chris Nielsen & John Markus Pinard

The Connor Award
(Presented annually to the Holy Cross senior who, by a vote of the varsity squad, is named the person the players are most proud of as a teammate. It is given by the Holy Cross club of the Pioneer Valley.):
Matt Fanning

The Unsung Hero Award
(Presented annually to the player who has supported the team spiritually, emotionally and physically for the good of the team.):
Frank Herlihy

The Rick Carter Memorial Award
(Presented to the senior who most exemplifies what coach Carter stood for and instilled in his student-athletes.):
Dan Adams

2006 Crusader Most Valuable Player
(Presented to the person who his teammates feel was the most significant part of the team.):
Dominic Randolph