Football Announces Team Awards For 2005 Season

Feb. 11, 2006

WORCESTER, Mass. - The Holy Cross football team has announced its team awards for the 2005 season. The awards were presented at the team's annual banquet, held on Saturday, February 11, in the Hogan Campus Center.

Leading the award winners was senior tailback Steve Silva (East Providence, R.I.), who was named the 2005 Crusader Most Valuable Player. Silva led the Holy Cross offense with 913 rushing yards and 11 touchdowns on 189 carries, in addition to catching a team-best 54 passes for 364 yards and another score. A complete list of award recipients follows:

WTAG Offensive Player of the Year
Steve Silva

WTAG Defensive Player of the Year
Chris Nielsen

WTAG Special Teams Player of the Year
Steve Silva

Davitt Awards (Presented annually to the top back and lineman on both offense and defense. They were instituted by Jim Davitt [Class of 1913] of Holyoke, Mass., in memory of his brother, Rev. William Davitt [Class of 1907], who played football and ran track while at Holy Cross, and was the last United States officer to lose his life in World War I.)
Offensive Back: Steve Silva
Offensive Lineman: David Cannon
Defensive Back: Casey Gough
Defensive Lineman: Chris Nielsen

The Connor Award (Presented annually to the Holy Cross senior who, by a vote of the varsity squad, is named the person the players are most proud of as a teammate. It is given by the Holy Cross club of the Pioneer Valley.)
Luke Dugan

The Unsung Hero Award (Presented annually to the player who has supported the team spiritually, emotionally and physically for the good of the team.)
Gideon Akande & Tyler Nugent

The Rick Carter Memorial Award (Presented to the senior who most exemplifies what coach Carter stood for and instilled in his student-athletes.)
Sean Gruber

2005 Crusader Most Valuable Player (Presented to the person who his teammates feel was the most signifcant part of the team.)
Steve Silva