David Cannon & Steve Silva Named To All-New England Team

Nov. 29, 2005

WORCESTER, Mass. - Holy Cross senior center David Cannon (Export, Pa.) and senior tailback Steve Silva (East Providence, R.I.) have been selected to the 2005 New England Football Writers Division I-AA All-Star team. The team, which includes players from 10 schools, will be honored at the annual New England Football Writers Captains & Awards Banquet, on Thursday, Dec. 8, at Lantana Restaurant in Randolph, Mass.

Cannon was a first team All-Patriot League selection this season, after earning second team all-conference honors in 2004. He started all 11 games for the Crusaders at center this year, leading an offensive line which paved the way for Holy Cross to rush for 127.6 yards per game, while supplying pass protection for the Crusaders to throw for 202.2 yards per contest. The Crusader offense also averaged 28.8 points per game during the 2005 campaign. Dating back to the 2003 season, Cannon started the final 32 games of his Holy Cross career at center.

Silva placed 13th in the voting for the 2005 Walter Payton Award, in addition to being named the Patriot League Offensive Player of the Year, Patriot League Special Teams Player of the Year and first team All-Patriot League. He totaled 2,134 all-purpose yards this season, rushing for 913 yards and 11 touchdowns on 189 carries, catching 54 passes for 364 yards and a score, returning 19 kickoffs for 462 yards and a touchdown, and bringing back 22 punts for 395 yards and two scores. Silva led in the nation in all-purpose yards, while ranking third in punt returns, 10th in scoring, 26th in kickoff returns, 34th in receptions and 34th in rushing yards. He also led the Patriot League in all-purpose yards, receptions and punt returns, while standing second in scoring, and third in rushing and kickoff returns. Silva finished his career ranked in the Holy Cross all-time top 10 in rushing touchdowns (34, second), all-purpose yards (5,153, second), rushing yards (2,646, third), total touchdowns scored (38, third), rushing carries (615, third), points scored (228, third) and receptions (154, fourth).

Holy Cross concluded the 2005 season with an overall record of 6-5, while placing fourth in the Patriot League with a 3-3 mark in conference games.

2005 New England Football Writers Division I-AA All-Star Team

QB  Ricky Santos        New Hampshire    So.
RB  Clifton Dawson      Harvard          Jr.
RB  Nick Hartigan       Brown            Sr.
WR  David Ball          New Hampshire    Jr.
WR  Cory Parks          Northeastern     Sr.
WR  Ashley Wright       Yale             Jr.
TE  Jonathan Williams   New Hampshire    Sr.
OL  David Cannon        Holy Cross       Sr.
OL  Ryan Gibbons        Northeastern     Sr.
OL  Will Johnson        Harvard          Sr.
OL  Alex Jury           Brown            Sr.
OL  Ben Lazarski        Maine            Sr.
OL  Shamel Lewis        Rhode Island     Jr.
PK  Steve Morgan        Brown            So.
RS  Steve Silva         Holy Cross       Sr.

DL  Derek Stank         New Hampshire    Sr.
DL  Mike Berg           Harvard          Jr.
DL  Anthony Gargiulo    Dartmouth        Sr.
DL  Keron Williams      Massachusetts    Sr.
LB  Jermaine Walker     Maine            Sr.
LB  Zak DeOssie         Brown            Jr.
LB  Matt Thomas         Harvard          Jr.
LB  Serge Tikum         Massachusetts    Sr.
DB  Shannon James       Massachusetts    Sr.
DB  Jamie Gasparella    Brown            Sr.
DB  Corey Graham        New Hampshire    Jr.
DB  Jarrod Gomes        Maine            Sr.
P   Christian Koegel    Massachusetts    Jr.