Men's Varsity Eight Places First At Snake Regatta

Jordan Traub

WORCESTER, Mass. ­­– The Holy Cross varsity eight placed first out of 27 boats as the Holy Cross men's rowing team opened its fall season at the Snake Regatta on Lake Quinsigamond on Saturday. This is the third straight year that the Crusaders' varsity eight have won the men's eight race.

The varsity eight won the race with a time of 13:51.577 as Rhode Island finished second with a time of 14:03.268. The Crusaders' second varsity eight placed third just behind the Rams with a time of 14:03.846. The Holy Cross freshman eight boat finished 13th with a time of 14:43.129 as the team had the best time of any freshman boat. The third varsity eight placed 17th with a time of 14:59.988.

"It is nice to start the season off strongly and I think all of our boats did that," said head coach Todd Pearson. "We've been talking a lot this fall about the importance of having a strong team, not just a few guys or one boat that is fast. Today was definitely a step in the right direction towards the goal of having a deeper, faster team."

The Crusaders return to action when they compete at the 48th Head of the Charles Regatta on Oct. 20-21.

Holy Cross "A" (Varsity eight): Michael Fitzgerald (coxswain), Jordan Traub, Anthony Curro, Peter Prominski, Henry Van Damme, Mike Walker, Kevin Moran, Nick Forgione, Pat Rapuano.

Holy Cross "B" (Second varsity eight):
John Gentile (coxswain), Paul Gaffney, Kyle Larkin, Alex Brandon, John Burke, Andrew Cecchetti, Brian Clark, Nicholas Powers, Connor May.

Holy Cross "C" (Third varsity eight):
Eddie Ryan (coxswain), Chris Roy, Mike Lindsay, Andrew McNamara, Robert Weitzel, David Cieremans, Tiarnan Doherty, Nick Whalen, Ryan Hallisey.

Holy Cross "D" (Freshman eight):
Christian Brooks (coxswain), Sam Shaw, Zack Zaniewski, Joe Nolan, Connor Dilworth, Samuel Poryanda, Brian Sullivan, Patrick Loughran, Jon Bachmann.