Men’s Rowing Wins Three Of Four Races Versus Georgetown

Andrew Cecchetti

PRINCETON, N.J. – The Crusaders won three of four races as the Holy Cross men's rowing team competed versus EARC member Georgetown on Saturday on Lake Carnegie. The Crusaders won the second, third and fourth varsity eight races.

Georgetown's No. 17 varsity eight boat won the Healy Cup with a time of 5:56.9 as the Crusaders posted a time of 6:13.7. The cup was named in honor of Father Patrick Healy who graduated from Holy Cross (Class of 1850) and then went on to become the President of Georgetown. The cup was donated by the HC and Georgetown classes of 2010. The Crusaders' second varsity eight boat won its race with a time of 6:13.7 as the Hoyas tallied a time of 6:17.1. Holy Cross posted a time of 6:27.4 to win the third varsity eight race as Georgetown posted a time of 6:34.0. The fourth varsity eight race was also won by the Crusaders with a time of 6:33.5 as the Hoyas tallied a time of 6:57.1.

The Crusaders return to action on Sunday, April 21 in New Brunswick, N.J., when they take on Rutgers.

Holy Cross Varsity eight: J.T. Kearney (coxswain), John Burke, Peter Prominski, Anthony Curro, Sam Poryanda, Mike Walker, Henry Van Damme, Pat Rapuano, Jordan Traub.

Holy Cross Second Varsity Eight: Michael Fitzgerald (coxswain), Paul Gaffney, Kevin Moran, Nick Forgione, Connor Dilworth, Andrew Cecchetti, Tiarnan Doherty, Andrew McNamara, Connor May.  

Holy Cross Third Varsity Eight: Christian Brooks (coxswain), Sam Shaw, Kyle Larkin, Joe Nolan, Brian Sullivan, Casey Norton, T.J. Watts, Mike Lindsay, Jon Bachmann

Holy Cross Fourth Varsity Eight: John Gentile (coxswain), Nicholas Powers, Robert Weitzel, Brian Clark, Conor Faron, Danny Mitchell, J.D. Power, Andrew Mallalieu, Ryan Hallisey.