Monty Sanders Named To PL All-Academic Team

Monty Sanders

WORCESTER, Mass. – Holy Cross men's soccer senior captain Monty Sanders (Temecula, Calif.) has been named to the Patriot League All-Academic team. This is the first time that Sanders has earned this honor.

Sanders, who is a Mathematics and Economics major, just recently earned first team All-Patriot League honors for the second year in a row. Sanders is a two-time captain who as a senior has tallied four goals, seven assists and 15 points, which are all career-highs. Sanders leads the team in assists and points as his seven assists are tied for second all-time in a season in school history. He leads the team with a career-best three game-winning goals. During his career, Sanders has only missed one game, playing and starting in 69 games scoring a total of 11 career goals, nine assists and 31 points. He won the team's 2013 Luke Dunivant Award, which goes to a player who has inspired others by displaying outstanding courage, commitment to the team and sportsmanship during his career. Sanders was named to the Patriot League Academic Honor Roll in 2011 and 2012 and is a three-year member of the Holy Cross Leadership Academy.

The Crusaders, who are the No. 3 seed in the Patriot League Tournament, defeated  No. 6 seed Colgate,  3-0, at the Linda Johnson Smith Soccer Stadium on Nov. 12 in the quarterfinals. The Crusaders will play No. 2 seeded Army in the semifinals in Annapolis, Md. on Friday, Nov. 15 at 7:30 p.m. Holy Cross defeated Army 2-1 on Oct. 30 earlier this season. No. 1 seeded Navy will take on No. 4 seeded Bucknell in the other semifinal at 4:00 p.m. This is the Crusaders' first semifinal appearance since 2008 and they look to win their first Patriot League title since 2002. The Crusaders are 9-8-1 overall this season as their nine wins on the year also marks their most since the 2008 season.

Get all the latest news and results on the Holy Cross men's soccer team sent directly to your e-mail. To sign up for e-mail alerts go here:

Patriot League Scholar-Athlete of the Year -
Winston Boldt, Army, Jr. 

Academic All-Patriot League

Colin Seigfreid, American, Sr.
Winston Boldt, Army, Jr.
Joe Meyer, Bucknell, Sr.
Nick Arpey, Colgate, Sr.
Tyler Forbes, Colgate, So.
Monty Sanders, Holy Cross, Sr.
Ryan Dodds, Lafayette, Jr.
Jamie Luchini, Lehigh, So.
Stephen Dooley, Loyola Maryland, Sr.
Joseph Cahalan, Loyola Maryland, Jr.
Dave Arnold, Navy, Sr.