Women’s Varsity Eight Defeats Boston College & UConn

WORCESTER, Mass. – The Crusaders won the varsity eight race as the Holy Cross women's rowing team competed versus Boston College and Connecticut on Sunday on Lake Quinsigamond. The varsity eight earned the Irving-Christensen Cup for the victory as the Crusaders also won it in 2011.

The Crusaders won the varsity eight race with a time of 6:38.1, while Boston College placed second with a time of 6:43.77 and UConn placed third with a time of 7:02.86. "This was a great race with great competition," said Holy Cross head coach Patrick Diggins. "We're very happy to put HC's name on the Irving-Christensen Cup for 2013."

The Eagles took the second varsity eight race with a time of 6:56.7 as the Huskies (7:03.85) placed second and the Crusaders (7:04.14) placed third. Boston College claimed the varsity four race with a time of 7:45.1, while UConn (7:59.04) placed second and Holy Cross (8:02.63) placed third. BC placed first in the third varsity eight race with a time of 7:08.2 as BC "B" (7:18.86) placed second, the Crusaders (7:36.71) placed third, UConn (7:45.76) placed fourth and UConn "B" (8:08.54) placed fifth.

The Crusaders return to action when they take on Rutgers and George Mason on Saturday, April 27, on the Raritan River in New Brunswick, N.J.

Holy Cross Varsity Eight: Claire Scherer (coxswain), Aleks Torres, Lauren Carlo, Kate Diggins, Adrienne Randall, Catherine Roy, Kayla Zenk, Tori McCormick, Jackie Hanna.

Holy Cross Second Varsity Eight: Kristina Giangrande (coxswain), Kelsey Marakovits, Bridget Schirripa, Bridget Hager, Allie Arduini, Abbey Wilkman, Eugenia Minondo, Sarah Moroz, Sally Quinn.

Holy Cross Varsity Four: Kathryn Dragun (coxswain), Shalynn Doherty, Michele Grenier, Siobhan Murphy, Laura Alves.

Holy Cross Third Varsity Eight: Emily Langan (coxswain), Lauren Yacobucci, Cristina Pretto, Michaela Carroll, MaryKate Silk, Sarah Valente, Colleen Sharry, Taylor Teulings, Lillian Daley.