Women’s Rowing Places Third At Patriot League Championship

WORCESTER, Mass. – The Holy Cross women's rowing team placed third out of six teams at the 2013 Patriot League Championship on Friday morning on Lake Quinsigamond to conclude its season. Navy (35 points) won the team championship and earned an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. Bucknell (29 points) was second, the Crusaders (23 points) were third, MIT (20 points) placed fourth, Colgate (nine points) was fifth and Lehigh (eight points) placed sixth.

Holy Cross placed second in the second varsity eight race and was third in the varsity four race. This was the best ever result for a Holy Cross second varsity eight boat at the Patriot League Championship and the program's second silver medal, as the varsity four placed second in 2005. The Patriot League Championship is scored on a weighted system. Points are greatest for the varsity eight race with totals of 18-15-12-9-6-3 by position, while the second varsity eight is scored at 12-10-8-6-4-2 and the finishers in the varsity four race get scored 6-5-4-3-2-1.

Varsity Four

Navy won the varsity eight race with a time of 6:29.310, while Bucknell (6:33.927) placed second, MIT (6:36.952) was third, the Crusaders (6:28.247) placed fourth, Colgate (6:44.794) was fifth and Lehigh (6:54.930) placed sixth.

The Midshipmen also took the second varsity eight race with a time of 6:41.587 as the Crusaders (6:50.601) placed second, Bucknell (6:53.218) was third, MIT (6:57.975) placed fourth and Lehigh (7:04.213) was fifth.

Bucknell's varsity four placed first with a time of 7:22.970. Navy (7:30.756) was second, the Crusaders (7:35.537) placed third, Colgate (7:43.088) was fourth, MIT (7:48.865) placed fifth and Lehigh (8:10.021) was sixth.

Holy Cross Varsity Eight: Claire Scherer (coxswain), Aleks Torres, Lauren Carlo, Kate Diggins, Adrienne Randall, Catherine Roy, Kayla Zenk, Tori McCormick, Jackie Hanna.

Holy Cross Second Varsity Eight: Kristina Giangrande (coxswain), Bridget Hager, Kelsey Marakovits, Bridget Schirripa,  Cristina Pretto, Abbey WilkmanLillian Daley, Sarah Moroz, Sally Quinn.

Holy Cross Varsity Four: Kathryn Dragun (coxswain), Shalynn Doherty, Michele Grenier, Siobhan Murphy, Laura Alves.




 Second Varsity Eight