Women's Rowing Competes In ECAC National Invitational Championship

May 10, 2009

CAMDEN, N.J. - The Holy Cross women's rowing team's competition at the ECAC National Invitational Championship on Sunday, May 10, at Cooper River, N.J. was cancelled due to rough water conditions caused by wind currents. The Crusaders were able to compete in several heats prior to the remainder of the championship being cancelled.

In the third heat of the varsity eight event, Holy Cross finished second out of six boats with a time of 7:02.960, while Trinity won the heat with a time of 6:51.070. In the varsity eight semi-final race, Holy Cross' boat of coxswain Katie Donnelly and rowers Clare Bracikowski, Nicole Gabana, Johanna Cubelli, Abby Hammond, Monika Mangsen, Lis Flaherty, Meaghan Pedlow and Bethany Charron finished fifth out of six boats with a time 7:00.627. Ithaca finished first in the race with a time of 6:44.950, followed by Bates (6:48.336), Smith (6:48.091) and Mt. Holyoke (6:49.091). The Wm. Smith boat closed out the six-boat race with a time of 7:02.667.

Holy Cross' second varsity boat of coxswain Laura LeBourdais and rowers Kelly St. Germain, Mara Piltin, Odet Douglass, Maura Hogan, Jaqueline Esperti, Katherine Byrns, Meridith Malysz and Malgorzata Smas placed second out of five boats in the first heat of the event. Bates won the heat, recording a first-place time of 7:06.060.

In the third heat of the third varsity eight event, Holy Cross' boat of coxswain Amanda Woodgate and rowers Callie Gorman, Sarah Palilla, Jackie Jankowski, Mary Kate Cullen, Jennifer Beaudoin, Sarah Weinstein, Claire Moynihan and Jessica Ripp finished with a time of 7:47.903. Williams finished in first with a time of 7:17.537, followed by Trinity in second place with a time of 7:28.492.

Holy Cross' novice eight boat of coxswain Jillian Sollazzo, Eliza Gettel, Katherine Broderick, Simone Blanchard, Mollie Sydklowski, Caroline Cataldo, Amy Boerman and Catherine Flynn finished in fourth place out of six boats in the third heat of the event with a time of 7:41.820. Simmons won the race with a time of 7:20.650, followed by Bates (7:26.892) and Mary Washington (7:31.195).