Mark Seliger Photography
Mark Seliger Photography

Johnson & MacKay Earn All-Patriot League Accolades

Holy Cross Athletics   05-01-2017

WORCESTER, Mass. - Holy Cross senior captains Anna Johnson and Tess MacKay have earned second team All-Patriot League Women's Lacrosse honors, as voted on by the conferences' coaches.

Johnson, who was also named to the second team in 2016, started in all 17 games as she led the team with 56 draw controls (third all-time in school history) and 29 caused turnovers (fourth all-time), while she was second with 44 ground balls. She was named the Patriot League Defensive Player of the Week on March 13. Her 1.71 caused turnovers per game are ranked fourth in the league and 44th nationally, while her 3.29 draw controls per game are 10th in the league and 68th nationally. Johnson posted 86 career draw controls (ninth all-time) and 46 career caused turnovers (10th all-time).

MacKay, who earns this honor for the first time in her career, had a career season with 28 goals and 30 points as she was second on the team in goals and third in points. She was also third on the team with a career-best 34 ground balls. She posted a career-best seven goals and one assist for a career-high eight points versus Vermont. MacKay was named the Patriot League Midfielder of the Week on March 13. For her career, MacKay totaled 77 goals, 11 assists and 88 points with three game-winning goals and 34 caused turnovers.

2017 Patriot League Women's Lacrosse All-League Teams

Major Awards

Attacker of the Year: Kirsten Wilhelmsen, Lafayette (Sr., A)

Midfielder of the Year: Jenna Collins, Navy (Jr., M)

Defensive Player of the Year: Caroline Meegan, Boston University (Sr., GK)

Rookie of the Year: Kelly Larkin, Navy (Fr., A)

Coach of the Year: Jen Adams, Loyola Maryland

First Team All-Patriot League

Attack: Hannah Powers, Loyola Maryland (So.), Kirsten Wilhelmsen, Lafayette (Sr.), Allison LaBeau, Lehigh (Sr.), Morgan Young, Navy (Sr.), Cami Whiteford, Loyola Maryland (Sr.)

Midfield: Jenna Collins, Navy (Jr.), Julianne D'Orazio, Lehigh (Sr.), Taylor VanThof, Loyola Maryland (So.), Maddy Molinari, Bucknell (Sr.), Haley O'Hanlon, Colgate (Jr.),

Defense: Bailey Mathis, Loyola Maryland (Sr.), Kierstyn Voiro, Lehigh (Jr.), Kristen Yanchoris, Loyola Maryland (So.), Blake Smith, Navy (Jr.)

Goalkeeper: Caroline Meegan, Boston University (Sr.)

Second Team All-Patriot League

Attack: Kelly Larkin, Navy (Fr.), Kailey Conry, Boston University (Fr.), Jane Kirby, Lafayette (So.)

Midfield: Lauren Beausoleil, Lehigh (Sr.), Madison Hoon, American (Sr.), Katrina Geiger, Loyola Maryland (Jr.), Andie O'Sullivan, Navy (So.), Manuela Cortes, Army West Point (So.), Hannah Davey, Lafayette (So.), Tess MacKay, Holy Cross (Sr.)

Defense: Janelle Macone, Boston University (Sr.), Annie Gilbertson, Bucknell (Sr.), Anna Johnson, Holy Cross (Sr.), Kiersten Spencer, Army West Point (Jr.)

Goalkeeper: Kady Glynn, Loyola Maryland (So.)

There are numerous ways to stay connected with the Holy Cross women's lacrosse team. Follow the Crusaders on Twitter @HCrossWLax, Instagram holycrosswlax and on Facebook. You can get also get the latest news and results on the women's lacrosse team sent directly to your e-mail. To sign up for e-mail alerts go here.




Launch Player
Men's Ice Hockey vs. AIC Highlights (1/19/2019)
Men's Ice Hockey
Men's Ice Hockey vs. AIC Highlights (1/19/2019)
Women's Basketball vs. BU Highlights (1/19/2019)
Women's Basketball
Women's Basketball vs. BU Highlights (1/19/2019)
Men's Basketball vs. Loyola Highlights (1/19/2019)
Men's Basketball
Men's Basketball vs. Loyola Highlights (1/19/2019)