Jerry McCabe to Join Crusader Football Legends Ring of Honor

Holy Cross Athletics   06-18-2019

WORCESTER, Mass. – The Holy Cross department of athletics has announced that Jerry McCabe (Class of 1987) has been selected for induction into the Crusader Football Legends Ring of Honor. McCabe will be honored in a ceremony at the game against New Hampshire on Sept. 7, and receive permanent recognition at Fitton Field.

McCabe was a star on Holy Cross’ outstanding teams in the mid-1980s. He set what was then a school single-season record with 178 tackles as a junior in 1985, before totaling 157 tackles as a senior in 1986. His 386 career total tackles were the second-most in Holy Cross history at the time of his graduation. As a senior, McCabe was named the Patriot League Defensive Player of the Year, in addition to bringing home second team All-America, first team All-East, first team All-New England and first team All-Patriot League honors. He led the team to an overall record of 31-12-2 during his four-year career, and was a captain of the 1986 team which went 10-1 and won the inaugural Patriot League championship. McCabe played in the 1987 Senior Bowl, before spending time in the National Football League with the New England Patriots and the Kansas City Chiefs. He then went to medical school on a U.S. Navy scholarship and went into practice as a diagnostic radiologist in South Carolina.

Only former Crusader football players who have been elected to the Holy Cross Varsity Club Hall of Fame are eligible for the Ring of Honor. The inductees to be honored were chosen by a special committee, which includes representatives from the Holy Cross Department of Athletics, the Friends of Crusader Football Executive Committee, the Holy Cross Varsity Club and the Holy Cross Development Office, along with living members of the Ring of Honor. In addition, fan voting accounted for a small percentage of the final tally. With the addition of McCabe, a total of 28 former Crusaders will now be included in the Ring of Honor.

Make sure not to miss the Ring of Honor ceremony at the New Hampshire game on Sept. 7 by ordering your season tickets today! Tickets are available online at or over the phone by calling 1-844-GOCROSS.

Here is a list of individuals who have previously been inducted into the Crusader Football Legends Ring of Honor:

Crusader Football Legends Ring of Honor Members
Induction Year Name
2010 Gill Fenerty (Class of 1986)
Gordie Lockbaum (Class of 1988)
Edmund Murphy (Class of 1943)
Bill Osmanski (Class of 1939)
Vince Promuto (Class of 1960)
John Provost (Class of 1975)
2011 George Connor (Class of ex1946)
Bruce Kozerski (Class of 1984)
Jon Morris (Class of 1964)
Joe Wilson (Class of 1973)
2012 Ronnie Cahill (Class of 1940)
Pat McCarthy (Class of 1963)
Jeff Wiley (Class of 1989)
2013 Tom Greene (Class of 1959)
Dave Quehl (Class of 1976)
Johnny Turco (Class of 1952)
2014 Tom Ciaccio (Class of 1992)
Charlie Maloy (Class of 1953)
2015 Harry Flaherty (Class of 1984)
Tom Hennessey (Class of 1963)
2016 Jack Lentz (Class of 1967)
Glenn Verrette (Class of 1980)
2017 Dr. Edward N. Anderson (Coach)
Dennis Golden (Class of 1963)
David Murphy (Class of 1990)
2018 Bill McGovern (Class of 1985)
Rob McGovern (Class of 1989)




Launch Player
2019 Holy Cross Football Season Preview: Part I
2019 Holy Cross Football Season Preview: Part I
Holy Cross Athletics Moments: 2018-19
Holy Cross Athletics Moments: 2018-19
2019 Baseball Patriot League Semifinal Hype
2019 Baseball Patriot League Semifinal Hype