Holy Cross Crusaders -  College of the Holy Cross Official Athletic Site

Nick McBeath Receives All-America Honors

Holy Cross Athletics   12-22-2017

WORCESTER, Mass. – Holy Cross senior Nick McBeath has been selected to the 2017 Phil Steele All-America team for the Football Championship Subdivision. McBeath was named to the third team as a linebacker.

A first team All-Patriot League selection in both 2016 and 2017, McBeath also earned All-New England and All-ECAC honors this year. He started all 11 games for the Crusaders at inside linebacker this season, totaling a team-best 114 tackles, five sacks and 13 tackles for loss. McBeath also recorded two interceptions, two fumble recoveries, a forced fumble and four pass breakups on the year. He finished the season ranked second in the Patriot League in total tackles, third in tackles for loss, seventh in sacks and seventh in fumble recoveries. During his Holy Cross career, McBeath totaled 322 tackles, 26 tackles for loss, eight quarterback sacks, four forced fumbles, three interception and eight pass breakups.

Holy Cross concluded the 2017 season with an overall record of 4-7, and tied for third in the Patriot League with a 3-3 mark in conference games.

A complete list of the 2017 Phil Steele All-America football team follows.


OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: QB Chris Streveler, South Dakota, Sr.
DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: LB Brett Taylor, Western Illinois, Sr.
OFFENSIVE LINEMAN OF THE YEAR: OT Brandon Parker, North Carolina A&T, Sr.
FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: LB Bryson Armstrong, Kennesaw State

WR Keelan Doss, UC Davis, Jr.
WR Justin Watson, Penn, Sr.
WR Neil O’Connor, New Hampshire, Jr.
TE Dallas Goedert, South Dakota State, Sr.
OL Brandon Parker, North Carolina A&T, Sr.
OL Timon Parris, Stony Brook, Sr.
OL Jamil Demby, Maine, Sr.
OL Austin Kuhnert, North Dakota State, Sr.
OL Skyler Phillips, Idaho State, Sr.
QB Chris Streveler, South Dakota, Sr.
RB Josh Mack, Maine, Soph.
RB Roc Thomas, Jacksonville State, Sr.
FB Cal Daniels, Stony Brook, Jr.

DL Darius Jackson, Jacksonville State, Sr.
DL Jonathan Petersen, San Diego, Sr.
DL Ahmad Gooden, Samford, Jr.
DL Dalton Keene, Illinois State, Sr.
LB Darius Leonard, South Carolina State, Sr.
LB Brett Taylor, Western Illinois, Sr.
LB Nick DeLuca, North Dakota State, Sr.
LB Sione Teuhema, Southeastern Louisiana, Sr.
DB Davontae Harris, Illinois State, Sr.
DB D’Montre Wade, Murray State, Sr.
DB Taron Johnson, Weber State, Sr.
DB Mike Basile, Monmouth, Sr.

K Lorran Fonseca, Nicholls, Jr.
P Joe Zema, Incarnate Word, Sr.
KR Juwan Petit-Frere, Southeastern Louisiana, Soph.
PR Justice Shelton-Mosley, Harvard, Jr.
AP John Santiago, North Dakota, Jr.

WR Elijah Marks, Northern Arizona, Sr.
WR Nathan Stewart, Sam Houston State, Soph.
WR Davion Davis, Sam Houston State, Jr.
TE Andrew Vollert, Weber State, Sr.
OL Justin Lea, Jacksonville State, Sr.
OL Jacob Ohnesorge, South Dakota State, Sr.
OL Aaron Stinnie, James Madison, Sr.
OL Alex Thompson, Monmouth, Sr.
OL Zach Larsen, Southern Utah, Soph.
QB Kyle Lauletta, Richmond, Sr.
RB Detrez Newsome, Western Carolina, Sr.
RB Dominick Bragalone, Lehigh, Jr.
FB Connor Wentz, North Dakota State, Sr.

DL P.J. Hall, Sam Houston State, Sr.
DL Andrew Ankrah, James Madison, Sr.
DL Anthony Ellis, Charleston Southern, Sr.
DL Richard Jarvis, Brown, Sr.
LB Jared Farley, Northern Iowa, Sr.
LB Warren Messer, Elon, Jr.
LB Garrett Dolan, Houston Baptist, Sr.
LB Christian Rozeboom, South Dakota State, Soph.
DB Tremon Smith, Central Arkansas, Sr.
DB Elijah Campbell, Northern Iowa, Sr.
DB Danny Johnson, Southern, Sr.
DB Marlon Bridges, Jacksonville State, Soph.

K Lane Clark, Tennessee State, Sr.
P Ian Berryman, Western Carolina, Jr.
KR Darius Floyd, Prairie View A&M, Jr.
PR Davion Davis, Sam Houston State, Jr.
AP Detrez Newsome, Western Carolina, Sr.

WR Jaelon Acklin, Western Illinois, Sr.
WR Troy Pelletier, Lehigh, Sr.
WR Jake Wieneke, South Dakota State, Sr.
TE Andy Schumpert, Furman, Sr.
OL Alex Light, Richmond, Sr.
OL Jacob Judd, Western Illinois, Sr.
OL Mitchell Sweigart, Princeton, Sr.
OL John Cook, Central Arkansas, Jr.
OL Matthew Schmidt, Furman, Sr.
QB Hayden Hildebrand, Central Arkansas, Sr.
RB De’Lance Turner, Alcorn State, Sr.
RB Zane Dudek, Yale, Fr.
FB Andre Stoddard, Wofford, Jr.

DL Abdullah Anderson, Bucknell, Sr.
DL Khalen Saunders, Western Illinois, Jr.
DL Bilal Nichols, Delaware, Sr.
DL Eric Jackson, Central Arkansas, Sr.
LB Nick McBeath, Holy Cross, Sr.
LB Brandon Bryant, Lafayette, Sr.
LB Josh Buss, Montana, Jr.
LB Matthew Oplinger, Yale, Sr.
DB Tre Dempsey, North Dakota State, Sr.
DB Rashad Robinson, James Madison, Jr.
DB George Odum, Central Arkansas, Sr.
DB Jordan Brown, James Madison, Sr.

K Trey Tuttle, Weber State, Fr.
P Austin Bernard, Samford, Sr.
KR Desmond Hite, Incarnate Word, Soph.
PR Xequille Harry, Weber State, Sr.
AP Davion Davis, Sam Houston State, Jr.

WR Kelvin McKnight, Samford, Jr.
WR Jesper Horsted, Princeton, Jr.
WR Daurice Fountain, Northern Iowa, Sr.
TE Ross Dwelley, San Diego, Sr.
OL Ben Huss, Duquesne, Sr.
OL Iosua Opeta, Weber State, Jr.
OL Daniel Cooney, San Diego, Jr.
OL Stetson Dagel, South Dakota, Sr.
OL Ross Demmel, Wofford, Sr.
QB Jeremiah Briscoe, Sam Houston State, Sr.
RB Corey Avery, Sam Houston State, Sr.
RB A.J. Hines, Duquesne, Soph.
FB Anthony Manzo-Lewis, Albany, Sr.

DL Chris Stewart, Sam Houston State, Jr.
DL Chris Terrell, Central Arkansas, Soph.
DL Darin Greenfield, South Dakota, Soph.
DL Jaison Williams, Austin Peay, Soph.
LB Thomas Costigan, Bryant, Jr.
LB Mario Jenkins, Idaho State, Sr.
LB Shaheed Salmon, Samford, Sr.
LB De’Arius Christmas, Grambling State, Jr.
DB Rock Ya-Sin, Presbyterian, Jr.
DB Jimmy Moreland, James Madison, Jr.
DB Malik Duncan, Saint Francis (PA), Sr.
DB Raven Greene, James Madison, Sr.

K Gunnar Raborn, McNeese, Jr.
P Keith Wrzuszczak, Eastern Kentucky, Sr.
KR Jean Constant, Bryant, Soph.
PR Khris Gardin, North Carolina A&T, Sr.
AP Elijah Marks, Northern Arizona, Sr.

As the calendar year ends, we ask you to help Holy Cross Athletics maintain its forward momentum by supporting the Crusader Athletics Fund. To make your gift, visit GoHolyCross.com/caf or call (877) 433-1843.



Launch Player
Men's Hockey vs. Niagara 1/12/2019)
Men's Ice Hockey
Men's Hockey vs. Niagara 1/12/2019)
Men's Basketball vs. Lafayette Highlights (1/12/2019)
Men's Basketball
Men's Basketball vs. Lafayette Highlights (1/12/2019)
Women's Ice Hockey vs. Maine Highlights (1/12/2019)
Women's Ice Hockey
Women's Ice Hockey vs. Maine Highlights (1/12/2019)

  Your retargeting tag(s)