Fourth Annual Crusader Awards Set For Tonight

Holy Cross Athletics   05-07-2018

WORCESTER, Mass. – Holy Cross student-athletes and teams will be honored for their outstanding achievements tonight at the fourth annual Crusader Awards. The event will begin at 7:00 p.m., and can be seen live on the Patriot League Network by clicking here.

This awards ceremony will bring together all Holy Cross student-athletes, coaches and staff for one night to recognize everything which has been accomplished at Holy Cross this school year. Men's ice hockey junior Tommy Nixon will serve as the host of the event, and director of athletics Nathan Pine will share his thoughts on the year. Entertainment for the evening will include several unique videos and live musical performances.

Nominees for the awards which will be presented include the following:

Male Breakthrough Athlete of the Year
Danny Barlok, Baseball
Martin Dorsey, Football
Jehyve Floyd, Men’s Basketball
Kevin Kodzis, Men’s Lacrosse

Female Breakthrough Athlete of the Year
Keely Connors, Women’s Lacrosse
Antonia Matzka, Women’s Ice Hockey
Christa Jay Moore, Women’s Track & Field
Sophie VanSeveren, Volleyball

Coach of the Year
Egetta Alfonso, Women’s Track & Field
Greg DiCenzo, Baseball
Marco Koolman, Men’s Soccer
Peter Van Buskirk, Women’s Ice Hockey

Unsung Hero
Steve McGurn, Silver Fox Bus Driver
Jeff Oliver, Head Strength & Conditioning Coach
Rev. Michael J. Rogers, S.J., Team Chaplain

Moment of the Year
Bobby Hurstak, Men’s Soccer
Justin Lynskey, Men’s Lacrosse
Maggie Moriarty, Women’s Lacrosse 
Peter Pujals, Football 

Best Individual Performance
Austin Butler, Men’s Basketball
Hannah Jeter, Women’s Cross Country
Peter Pujals, Football
Tessie Salatas, Women’s Ice Hockey

Game of the Year
Baseball - 3-2 victory over No. 24 Houston
Football - 51-26 victory over No. 9 New Hampshire
Men’s Soccer - Advancing past Boston University on penalty kicks in Patriot League Semifinals
Women’s Ice Hockey - 2-0 win over Harvard, first victory over full Division I opponent

Team of the Year
Men’s Ice Hockey
Men’s Soccer
Women’s Ice Hockey
Women’s Track & Field

Male Athlete of the Year
Paul Berrafato, Men’s Ice Hockey 
Jehyve Floyd, Men’s Basketball
Nick McBeath, Football 
Arno Rupp, Men’s Soccer 

Female Athlete of the Year
Maureen Connolly, Field Hockey 
Lauren Manis, Women’s Basketball 
Zoe Matherne, Women’s Cross Country / Track & Field 
Kara Violette, Women's Ice Hockey 

Crusader in the Community
Maureen Connolly, Field Hockey
Hugo Hunt, Men’s Rowing
Zoe Matherne, Women’s Cross Country / Track & Field 
Maeve Westover, Women’s Swimming & Diving 




Launch Player
Women's Ice Hockey vs. Brown Video Recap (10/20/2018)
Women's Ice Hockey
Women's Ice Hockey vs. Brown Video Recap (10/20/2018)
Men's Soccer vs. Loyola Video Recap (10/20/2018)
Men's Soccer
Men's Soccer vs. Loyola Video Recap (10/20/2018)
Crusaders Against Cancer 5k
Crusaders Against Cancer 5k